PDA

View Full Version : Couple of reloading questions

Major Pal
09-24-2009, 8:05 PM
Ive been reloading for a couple of years now, but still am a beginner. Im using both Lee and RCBS equipment and the Lee book. A friend of mine from the range just gave me a HUGE amount of supplies (powder, primers and bullets). He gave me a ziplock bag with thousands of .223 bullets, the bag has written on it 64 grains but they really weigh between 64.5 and 64.8. My book doesnt have any info on how much powder to use at this weight. Is there any place on the net that has a more complete list of how much to load for different weights and different powder? Also I have a lifetime supply of DU-PONT Hi-Skor 700X is that the same as IMR 700X? Because the Hi-Skor 700X isnt in my book either. Thanks in advance.

BigBamBoo
09-24-2009, 8:09 PM

halifax
09-24-2009, 8:17 PM
I'm pretty certain the two can be used interchangeably but not in rifles. They are shotgun powders with some pistol cartridge use.

Major Pal
09-24-2009, 8:20 PM
I;m pretty certain the two can be used interchangeably but not in rifles. They are shotgun powders with some pistol cartridge use.

I was going to use it for .45 ACP because the guy gave me 5000 already primed cases and atleast that amount of 230 grain FMJ Winchester bullets. Not to mention like 15 pounds of that powder!

halifax
09-24-2009, 9:32 PM
I was going to use it for .45 ACP because the guy gave me 5000 already primed cases and atleast that amount of 230 grain FMJ Winchester bullets. Not to mention like 15 pounds of that powder!

I have only one manual with 700X data in it: Sierra 5th Edition.

230gr 1.270 OAL

3.9gr 700fps

5.0gr 850fps

PonchoTA
09-24-2009, 9:41 PM
You should buy as many reloading manuals as your can. I personally have 7-8.

To get a starting load for a given bullet weight you should know the mfg. of said bullet(s).