PDA

View Full Version : At what point does you lower need a mag lock?

Vin496
09-24-2009, 7:46 AM
I know some dealers will allow you to buy a stripped lower while others will require that a BB/prince 50 be attached before the lower leaves.

If you are allowed to purchase a completely stripped lower at what point do you have to attach a locking device? Can you build the lower and as long as it isn't attached to an upper is it ok to not have a mag lock? Or would it be required once the trigger components are installed and the lower is able to fire?

grahlaika
09-24-2009, 8:10 AM
If you lower is an empty shell, then I don't think you need a BB (although it's wise to have one). It's just a non-firing piece of metal at that point. If it's built up and ready to fire when you put an upper on it, you'll definitely want a BB on it even though it's not a complete rifle.

I'm not a lawyer, so the above is just my opinion. Others will want to chime in. Personally I take the safe option - no need to take any un-necessary risks in this state with anything that can be deemed an AW by LEOs and DAs.

PIRATE14
09-24-2009, 8:16 AM
Well not until you put a functional upper on a complete lwr assembly would you absolutely need a mag lok of some type......before you put them together....

FFLs all have different policies......it's their shop....

reidnez
09-24-2009, 8:31 AM
Legally, you do not have to install a BB until an upper receiver is attached to the rifle.

Dealers, on the other hand, have their own policies. I had one FFL politely tell me not to remove the magazine from a Raddlock-equipped AK I was picking up (I was having difficulty putting it in my case.) I complied even though I knew he was incorrect, because it was his shop and I didn't feel it was worth arguing over.