PDA

View Full Version : New to the AR platform

SIGman Freud
09-23-2009, 10:40 PM
Hey all,

As the title of this thread declares......I'm an AR newbie. I want to get one such rifle before pending legislation toward restrictions of firearms and ammo makes it harder for the rest of us law-abiding, responsible citizens of California.

*Ahem
Anyways, I am interested in checking out the CMMG Midlength variant of the AR15 because it meets my qualifications and reasons for obtaining such a rifle: sturdy, cost-effective, and reliable enough. I say reliable enough because, honestly, I want something I can plink with, have fun with, and not break the bank. I've read/heard good things about the CMMG products (lowers and uppers), and I understand they are relatively new to making complete rifle builds. I only hope CMMG rifles are even legal in CA. My question, therefore, is twofold: What is the consensus around here about the CMMG product line, and what gun store in the Sacramento/Central Valley region has been known to carry them?

Jicko
09-23-2009, 10:43 PM
Follow the link in my signature.

Acorn556
09-24-2009, 4:02 AM
Get a Sig 556 and keep the name alive.

Don't fall into the hype that "Pending legislation" is going to end the world. That scare tactic made a lot of people a lot of money between November and about May. Then people realized they needed the money not the gun and couldn't sell them for what they paid.

Check that link as well as the AW Flow Chart up top. That will tell you what's legal and what's not. You could also look at DPMS, Rock River, and S&W for reliable guns. I don't care what people say about DPMS mine works every time and hit 400 yard 8" steel last weekend. Had witnesses too.

SIGman Freud
09-24-2009, 4:25 PM
Get a Sig 556 and keep the name alive.