PDA

View Full Version : Help with Linksys N adapter


Richie Caketown
09-23-2009, 4:00 PM
So i lost my CD for it a while ago and now i need to configure it to my brothers computer so he can have internet. I tried the Cisco/Linksys homepage but i cant find the "LELA" program needed to install it. Any help or link to were i can download the install software is appreciated.

Thanks

JDay
09-23-2009, 4:06 PM
Whats the model number? Enter it on this page and you should get a download link for the drivers (you don't need the software).

http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/support

1JimMarch
09-23-2009, 5:13 PM
Ummm...why bother?

Connect any PC to it via Ethernet, open a browser, type:

192.168.1.1

or

192.168.1.2

...as a website to go to. The router has a built-in webserver, you can talk directly to the router that way. Leave the username blank, put a password of "admin" in, no quotes, lowercase. That should get you into all the settings.

If it doesn't, esp. if it won't take the password, find the hidden recessed button on the back somewhere and hold it down for five seconds or more while the power is ON to flush all existing settings (such as a different username/password). Usually you wait with the toothpick until all the lights on the front flicker, then power it off, power it back on, connect PC, try and talk to it again. The client side can be anything, Mac/Windows/Linux and any reasonably modern browser.

Richie Caketown
09-23-2009, 6:08 PM
Whats the model number? Enter it on this page and you should get a download link for the drivers (you don't need the software).

http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/support

i tried this and could only find the regular software but when i tried to install it on my brothers computer it says i specifically need the software for a wireless N adapter

Ummm...why bother?

Connect any PC to it via Ethernet, open a browser, type:

192.168.1.1

or

192.168.1.2

...as a website to go to. The router has a built-in webserver, you can talk directly to the router that way. Leave the username blank, put a password of "admin" in, no quotes, lowercase. That should get you into all the settings.

If it doesn't, esp. if it won't take the password, find the hidden recessed button on the back somewhere and hold it down for five seconds or more while the power is ON to flush all existing settings (such as a different username/password). Usually you wait with the toothpick until all the lights on the front flicker, then power it off, power it back on, connect PC, try and talk to it again. The client side can be anything, Mac/Windows/Linux and any reasonably modern browser.

My brother doesnt have internet right now on his CPU . I have an N adapter i want to install on his CPU but no software to do it

JDay
09-23-2009, 6:30 PM
Contact Linksys.

1JimMarch
09-23-2009, 7:59 PM
My brother doesnt have internet right now on his CPU . I have an N adapter i want to install on his CPU but no software to do it

You're operating under a LOT of misconceptions.

You don't need Linksys software loaded on personal computer to talk to that router, whether it's running Windows, MacOSX or Linux. OK? If anything, it's going to be crapware you want no part of. That's true both when setting up the router and when actually using it.

When you take a router like this out of the box, regardless of vendor, by far the smartest thing you can do is take whatever CD came out of the box, break it and throw it in the trash. 98% of the time it's worthless, and won't give you full access to what the router can do. Most will tell you they're "setting your security" and do so to the pathetic WEP standard that any idiot can crack...and often not tell you what exactly they're doing.

The router was made my engineers. The install disk was made by (or at least influenced by) the bosses and marketing wonks, the "pointy haired types". The install disk is crap. It's evil. It's bull***** you don't want to get in bed with. Stick it in the microwave on "high" for five seconds (tops).

You can still configure the Linksys router with no Internet connection. Power on the Linksys router, run one piece of Ethernet from any of the four "client" ports to a computer, and you've built a LOCAL area network. You can still talk to the Linksys router at 192.168.1.1. Once you configure the WiFi security with an SSID, turn WPA encryption on, give it a WiFi password, etc. you can then ship it to somebody else ready to run.

Be sure and change the admin username and password for the router while you're in the menus. Some Windows malware will try and talk to the router, get in via the default username/password and rearrange how it works inside to really screw you over good.

mrkubota
09-23-2009, 8:14 PM
I think he's trying to install an network adapter... NOT... a router...

http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/support/WMP300N/download

1JimMarch
09-23-2009, 8:43 PM
Oh crap. I'm sorry, somehow I got on track it was a ROUTER at issue.

Sigh.

Yeah, you have to use the install disk for the client-side adapter in Windows.

Sorry.

Richie Caketown
09-23-2009, 11:58 PM
Thanks for the help guys , im actually using this USB adapter here on the left ( not my pic but its the exact one) . EIther im a n00b or the install CD is sneaky


http://www.funriders.net/temp/screenshot_hardware_wdtv_klein.jpg

JDay
09-24-2009, 6:21 AM
Thanks for the help guys , im actually using this USB adapter here on the left ( not my pic but its the exact one) . EIther im a n00b or the install CD is sneaky


http://www.funriders.net/temp/screenshot_hardware_wdtv_klein.jpg

A model number is much more useful than the picture.

Lyte-
09-24-2009, 9:03 AM
My friend works for Linksys, they are located on the UCI campus.

Try calling their tech support and see if they can send you the install disk or direct you to the page on their website where you can download the drivers.

Have you tried asking windows to automaticly find the drivers for the new hardware it has located?

If none of the above works just go purchase a new usb adapter they are not very expensive so its really not worth waiting or the hassle to find the drivers for this model (as it appears to be obsolete if its not coming up on their website right away)

Richie Caketown
09-24-2009, 8:03 PM
WUSB600N is the model number . I tried manually installing the new 2.14 driver but when i run a diagnostic through LELA it only finds 1.0.1 software . The only driver downloads i could find were for windows XP (im on vista)and even then it didnt work right . Im about to go buy an N adapter use the CD then return it lol

M198
09-24-2009, 8:13 PM
I'm assuming you've looked here?

http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/support/WUSB600N/download

audiophil2
09-24-2009, 8:20 PM
I'm assuming you've looked here?

http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/support/WUSB600N/download

Download this on your PC to a flash drive and install on your brothers PC. Uninstall old drivers first.