PDA

View Full Version : Need some help guys...

OIF_VET
09-18-2009, 10:13 AM
I've been a resident of cali my entire life. However, while I was in the military I purchased a few handguns in different states. I have been out of the military for about 5 years and have been back in cali since that time while my guns have remained out of state. So my question is, how can I get my guns back and registered here in cali? I know you have 60 days to register them through DOJ upon moving and entering cali, but since I've always been a resident, what do I do???

Thanks in advance...

TripleT
09-19-2009, 7:48 AM
The form you need is http://www.ag.ca.gov/firearms/forms/pdf/volreg.pdf and the cost is 19.00 per firearm. No FFL involvement.

OIF_VET
09-23-2009, 11:54 AM
FFL's is this correct??

tenpercentfirearms
09-24-2009, 7:33 AM
FFL's is this correct??

If you doubt this guy's word, then you should not be consulting an FFL. There is nothing about being an FFL that makes me an expert on how you can bring firearms in from being military out of state. I know how I bring firearms into the state, but I have no clue how you would do it.

I would recommend you call the CA DOJ at (916) 263-4887 and ask them.

Never assume an FFL knows what he is talking about. Ever. Sorry if this seems curt, but you wouldn't believe how many people think that if an FFL does it or says it, that makes it correct. No way. Most of us are not lawyers and we could totally be doing things wrong and won't know it until we get audited. I have been selling guns for 4 years and have yet to be audited by the DOJ.

You can also go through this website too.

http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/faq.php

Good luck.

kemasa
09-24-2009, 8:33 AM
I believe it is correct, but you should, as stated, check with the source, the CA DOJ. You might get different answers, so you should then get the information and check the CA Penal code and the website to ensure that you got the correct answer.

OIF_VET
09-26-2009, 6:05 PM