PDA

View Full Version : Calling all Garand Experts- Please help

SilverSalmon
09-08-2009, 9:55 PM
I'm a newbie, desperately trying to learn and need your help on selecting a Great shooting Garand.

I'm trying to build my newbie arsenal, and wanted a battle rifle with the same ammo as my long rifle. i just purchased a Springfield Remy 700 in 30.06, which is way i chose a Garand for my battle piece. After doing some research, i see that you can get in trouble with unreputable dealers (rewelds and etc.) So I'm currently looking at Garand Guy, miltech, Fulton Armory, and Orion 7 for a great shooter. Really don't want to wait for CMP (too long) It doesn't have to be all correct, but I DO WANT A DAMN GOOD SHOOTER I CAN BE PRIDE OF I can stand next to a M1A without regret. This gun will be my main battle rifle, not a closet queen.

1. What dealer should I buy from, among the sellers I listed above or others you know and trust? Which grade? Best bang for buck? someone suggested Super premium Grade from Garand guy?

2. Are there any other battle rifles in 30.06 i should consider?

3. i want to learn all I can about this weapon: restoring, refinishing, field stripping, rebuilding, my own gun smithing and etc. Any book or resource recommendations? I see this being longterm for me. I'm a newbie, but avid researcher and dilligent reader and etc.

4. how can i speak this Garand language you folks speak ;-) ?

ocabj
09-08-2009, 10:13 PM
You can always just buy one from the for sale section on this forum. Quite a few Garands hit the boards.

My friend was selling a bunch of milsurps. I'll email him a link to your post in case he still has some Garands left. Are you in Southern California?

If you want to buy one rebuilt by a gunsmith, Don Gussler in Santee works on the M1 (including National Match builds for Service Rifle competitions).

xzw151
09-08-2009, 10:24 PM