PDA

View Full Version : help. can't visit a certain website why?


Blackhawk556
08-31-2009, 11:03 PM
my sister told me she can't visit myspace.com
everytime I type www.myspace.com it goes to google.com
for some reason we can't visit the website from either our laptop or desktop. I tried both IE8 and chrome but both are unable to visit the site. I already checked tools, internet options, and added it to trusted sites. I also checked restricted sites and I don't see it in the list. I also checked the cookies options.
also deleted all temp files, history, and cookies
I did a search online and all results said to do what I just mentioned above. I also tried cmd, ping www.myspace.com and everything came back fine.

what else can I do?

Blackhawk556
08-31-2009, 11:05 PM
at first she thought I blocked the website but I didn't


also I'm using windows 7 on both computers
IE8, chrome, firefox 3.5

ocabj
08-31-2009, 11:40 PM
Could be dns caching hijacking.

Did you actually nslookup myspace.com while on the affected to host and see what IP it resolves to, and then reverse lookup the returned IP on an unaffected host?

Blackhawk556
09-01-2009, 2:27 AM
All I need to do is go to cmand prompt type nslookup "website " and that all right ?
I haven't tried this but I will I'm the morning
let's say it is this, are they only able to access myspace info or will they have access to all my stuff I do on internet? All websites work fine except myspace
Thanks

sfwdiy
09-01-2009, 2:50 AM
All I need to do is go to cmand prompt type nslookup "website " and that all right ?
I haven't tried this but I will I'm the morning
let's say it is this, are they only able to access myspace info or will they have access to all my stuff I do on internet? All websites work fine except myspace
Thanks

Is this your personal internet connection on your personal computer? It's really not hard to make this kind of a re-direct happen if you control either the computer or the gateway.

It's not likely anyone has your personal info unless they've actually hacked your personal network, however if they were doing it for personal gain I really doubt they'd be so obvious as to redirect myspace to google. I can think of a million other sites to redirect you to that would be a lot more amusing... amusing for me, at least. :43:

However, if I was trying to capture your personal info with a man-in-the-middle type of attack I'd try to be as transparent about it as possible. I'd want to give you no clues whatsoever that I was attacking your network.

I think you probably just need to clear out your cache.

--B

ETA: Myspace resolves to 216.178.38.116, Google resolves to 74.125.45.100. You can just ping a site to get it's IP. Ahh, the joys of troubleshooting DNS. :ack2:

ParallaxTactical.com
09-01-2009, 2:54 AM
goto c:/windows/system32/drivers/etc/

and open the hosts file. Check to see if there is anything with myspace in there.

sfwdiy
09-01-2009, 3:04 AM
goto c:/windows/system32/drivers/etc/

and open the hosts file. Check to see if there is anything with myspace in there.

If someone jacked with your hosts file to accomplish this you'd see a line in there that would look like this:

74.125.45.100 myspace.com

Adding this line to your hosts file would re-direct myspace to google's IP on the local machines. I used to do this at work all the time to keep people off myspace.

--B

Blackhawk556
09-01-2009, 10:26 AM
Is this your personal internet connection on your personal computer? It's really not hard to make this kind of a re-direct happen if you control either the computer or the gateway.

It's not likely anyone has your personal info unless they've actually hacked your personal network, however if they were doing it for personal gain I really doubt they'd be so obvious as to redirect myspace to google. I can think of a million other sites to redirect you to that would be a lot more amusing... amusing for me, at least. :43:

However, if I was trying to capture your personal info with a man-in-the-middle type of attack I'd try to be as transparent about it as possible. I'd want to give you no clues whatsoever that I was attacking your network.

I think you probably just need to clear out your cache.

--B

ETA: Myspace resolves to 216.178.38.116, Google resolves to 74.125.45.100. You can just ping a site to get it's IP. Ahh, the joys of troubleshooting DNS. :ack2:

yes this is my personal computer. The only change I have done recently was change my wireless network security from WEP to WPA2 AES just so everyone knows.

ok I tried lookup and this is what I get:
myspace resolves to 216.178.39.11
google resolves to 74.125.19.147

isn't the network portion of the IP address the same just the host portion different?

Blackhawk556
09-01-2009, 10:27 AM
goto c:/windows/system32/drivers/etc/

and open the hosts file. Check to see if there is anything with myspace in there.

ok I tried this and I dont see anything at all that has myspace in that file. I open all the files under etc an NONE have anything with myspace.

anyother suggestions

SwissFluCase
09-01-2009, 11:16 AM
Have you recently had a virus or spyware infection? I have seen improperly removed malware do things like this. Specifcally, sometimes the redirection part isn't removed, but the nasty porno addresses are.

Regards,


SwissFluCase

Blackhawk556
09-01-2009, 11:19 AM
1. Run IE with No Add-ons

Click Start, copy and paste Internet Explorer (No Add-ons) into Start Search box and press Enter. Change the cookie settings and have a test.



2. Reset IE

1) Click Start button-> Control Panel.

2) Change to Classic View on the left pane and double-click the Internet Options icon.

3) On the Security tab, click Default level button for each icon in the Select a zone to view or change security settings.

4) Click to Programs tab, and then click the Make default button if it is not grayed out.

5) Click to Advanced tab, click Restore advanced settings button in the Settings area.

6) Click the Reset button in the Reset Internet Explorer settings area and Click OK.

7) Click Apply, and then click OK.





Good Luck!

Andy

all these steps were already set to default the only one that I changed was or selected that was different was STEP 5. after I ran IE8 with no add ons AND reset IE the problem was fixed. One big question, why would resetting IE also allow chrome and firefox to access the website? is there a setting in IE that these other two use or something?

as soon as I turned my laptop on without doing any changes to it was also able to access the website.

Blackhawk556
09-01-2009, 11:20 AM
I started running a scan. After about 10minutes my sister walked into the room and said, " You don' think it's a virus" Bells started going off in my head and I asked her why she thought that. The day the problem started AVIRA anti-virus warned her of 3 virus. I opened the report and saw that the program had detected 3 viruses that day, the odd thing is that it said the viruses had been--------> "deny access"

If avira had already blocked them why would the problem 2 days ago why would the problem still exist?

*Virus or unwanted program 'HTML/Malicious.PDF.Gen [virus]'
detected in file 'C:\Users\*****\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Te mporary Internet Files\Low\Content.IE5\3C63DY9E\rce9t[1].pdf.
Action performed: Deny access

*Virus or unwanted program 'HTML/Feebs.Gen [virus]'
detected in file 'C:\Users\*****\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Te mporary Internet Files\Low\Content.IE5\DUR76RH8\clk[1].htm.
Action performed: Deny access

*Virus or unwanted program 'HTML/FakeAlert.lok [virus]'
detected in file 'C:\Users\*****\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Te mporary Internet Files\Low\Content.IE5\RL7PWZZ2\pr[1].htm.
Action performed: Deny access

sfwdiy
09-01-2009, 1:27 PM
If avira had already blocked them why would the problem 2 days ago why would the problem still exist?

My guess is the buggers made changes to your system before they got clipped by the AV software. Even though the viruses were no longer functioning on the system your AV software can't always undo any damage they've already caused.

--B

Blackhawk556
09-01-2009, 1:31 PM
thanks for everyone's suggestions. the problem was fixed

Blackhawk556
09-01-2009, 2:27 PM
My guess is the buggers made changes to your system before they got clipped by the AV software. Even though the viruses were no longer functioning on the system your AV software can't always undo any damage they've already caused.

--B

I see
thanks for all your help

I appreciate it:D