PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for my patrol rifle

nobody33
08-31-2009, 12:35 AM
I'm a patrol officer and currently running a Colt MT6731 (A match target competition H-bar). At the time I bought it, there wasn't a 6920 to be found. I was going to buy a new 6940 because the match target wasn't generally designed for a patrol gun. However, I used the gun in a OIS in march and don't really want part with it (saved my life). I'm thinking of making some modifications to it to make it better for use as my patrol rifle.

What do you guys think I should do with the barrel? Right now I'm thinking a comp/flash hider (by sending it in to be threaded, cut down, and pinned), and a 9" larue rail system- taking off the A2 front sight and putting on a flip up. Weight and $$ is not too much of an issue.

I'm looking at a FSC556 from PWS for the muzzle. Seems like there are a lot of good comments on here about that.

a1fabweld
08-31-2009, 4:54 AM
I'd just buy another colt upper (6920 or 6721). Or, build another upper using a BCM or similar upper with the rail of your choice & flash hider. Then you don't have to butcher your current upper.

Acorn556
08-31-2009, 5:04 AM
Colt 6940. Sames as the 6920 but California legal and has tactical rail setup
Noveske N6 Light
S&W M&P15 whichever version you prefer

If its a partol rifle you could buy a simple RRA or DPMS and put it in there but if it were up to me I'd go with one of the three above. I'm partial to S&W since it's the only brand of gun I've ever known but they just work for me. Never really had a problem.

paladin4415
08-31-2009, 5:28 AM
I'm a patrol officer and currently running a Colt MT6731. I'm thinking of making some modifications to it to make it better for use as my patrol rifle.

What will your agency allow?