PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about the Reserves... any tips/advice?

tuna quesadilla
08-27-2009, 9:15 PM
So I'm currently in my first semester of college, and I'm thinking about joining the reserves after I finish this semester. I've been thinking about joining the military for a looong time, but I've never actually committed to it. What do you think? Anybody currently in the reserves or who was in the reserves who can offer any advice? I talked to a recruiter and he said not to waste my time with the reserves, and just go active duty. Was that just recruiter BS or was he telling the truth?

Thanks!

jdberger
08-27-2009, 9:21 PM
Reserves are (or were) support functions.

Nat'l Guard are combat units (please note that I'm speaking in broad generalities).

So what do you want to do? Drive a truck or drive a tank?

http://military.smugmug.com/photos/59791603_9nr5t-O.jpg

tuna quesadilla
08-27-2009, 11:04 PM
Well what about the Marine reserves? Are Marine reserves just support units too? That's the branch I would join if I end up going through with this.

CavTrooper
08-28-2009, 7:22 AM
If you are in college now, look into the reserves/ROTC/SMP programs. Basically, join the reserves, learn the ropes while getting some college paid for, join the ROTC program and when its avalible (2nd year I belive) join the simultanious membership program. You will now be cadet learning the jobs of the Officers in your unit. Contract with the ROTC and have them pay for the rest of your schooling then when you graduate, you get your commision as an Officer in the US Army. Its an excellent program for some folks. Theres more to it, if you need to talk feel free to PM me.

JerryM
08-28-2009, 4:13 PM
Please please please please please...

Finish school first.

The military will put a freaking damper on your studies and will distract you greatly from earning your degree.

I know people will disagree, "you can do it", "if you are motivated you can", etc.