PDA

View Full Version : I'm the Apple man


TonyKat
08-26-2009, 7:26 PM
If anyone ever has any questions about Macs I'm your go to guy.

mister dize
08-26-2009, 8:48 PM
How do you install Windows on one? :confused: :D

erblo
08-26-2009, 8:50 PM
VMware Fusion, then install Windows.

Runs better than a PC!

reggie 00
08-26-2009, 9:04 PM
VMware Fusion, then install Windows.

Runs better than a PC!

that's what i have on my work laptop.
Works good.

XP, and 98

sfwdiy
08-26-2009, 9:10 PM
If anyone ever has any questions about Macs I'm your go to guy.

How does one configure networked home folders on 10.5 Server? :p

--B

TonyKat
08-26-2009, 9:55 PM
How does one configure networked home folders on 10.5 Server? :p

--B

I can only answer that if you have a mac mini farm :)

sfwdiy
08-26-2009, 10:05 PM
I can only answer that if you have a mac mini farm :)

You never know, I just might.

--B

Timberline
08-27-2009, 10:24 PM
If anyone ever has any questions about Macs I'm your go to guy.

Why is iPhoto so lame about moving its folders by hand to another hard drive?

Librarian
08-27-2009, 10:36 PM
When is finder going to have a GUI bulk-rename function? (Applescript doesn't count!)

TonyKat
08-27-2009, 11:02 PM
Why is iPhoto so lame about moving its folders by hand to another hard drive?

You can always just have the library live on the external :)

Timberline
08-28-2009, 6:36 AM
You can always just have the library live on the external :)

It's been no end of angst when my wife tries to move photos out of the library, or manipulate the library by hand, on disk. There appear to be tricks to get iPhoto to recognize a new location for its library, but they feel cheesey - there should be a simpler interface for such operations. For me, it's a case of Apple taking a great product almost to the right place, but stopping just shy of the mark. They don't think through a large enough number of use cases.

plm61
08-28-2009, 7:46 AM
VMware Fusion, then install Windows.

Runs better than a PC!

According to Mossberg (http://online.wsj.com/article/SB20001424052970204660604574374791275002148.html#m od=todays_us_personal_journal) in the Wall Street Journal, there are issues with VM under Snow Leopard. None that I know of with Parallels Desktop.

wilson_wwsc
08-28-2009, 8:24 AM
Why are pcs better than macs?

lazyworm
08-28-2009, 8:31 AM
VMware Fusion, then install Windows.

Runs better than a PC!

Don't forget virtualbox. It's come a long way and it's free.

TonyKat
08-28-2009, 6:34 PM
It's been no end of angst when my wife tries to move photos out of the library, or manipulate the library by hand, on disk. There appear to be tricks to get iPhoto to recognize a new location for its library, but they feel cheesey - there should be a simpler interface for such operations. For me, it's a case of Apple taking a great product almost to the right place, but stopping just shy of the mark. They don't think through a large enough number of use cases.

Oh that's not tough, just move the library to the external, then option click the iPhoto icon and specify the library on the external. From then on out iPhoto will only use that library. You can use the same methodology for most apps, like iTunes or iMovie. I love having my data on an external device or server.

Blackhawk556
08-31-2009, 1:37 PM
Would you guys agree that the software apple makes (leopard iLife garage band and other stuff) is good bit their computers are just way over priced?

Software= good
hardware =overpriced

ocabj
08-31-2009, 2:11 PM
How do resolve the failed linking for libiconv when compiling PHP 5.3 (stable or latest snapshot) under OS 10.6?

artherd
08-31-2009, 2:35 PM
Would you guys agree that the software apple makes (leopard iLife garage band and other stuff) is good bit their computers are just way over priced?

Software= good
hardware =overpriced

For me - no. I'll gladly pay a little more for version controlled hardware. Infact, in that industry, Apple is *cheap*

For comparison:
http://www.cdglobal.net/stuff/onyx2-3rack-install.JPG

chiefcrash
08-31-2009, 3:06 PM
How do I make my mac something more than an overpriced PC with a prettied up version of FreeBSD on it?

:43:

Remember: if you can't open it, you don't own it...

retired
08-31-2009, 10:23 PM
Okay, first let it be known I'm computer illiterate and didn't understand the technical stuff you were talking about. So, if you can help me, please dumb it down; real dumb.:D

Our pc (now dead and in need of reformatting) had a program called Publisher and I used it to write my flyers for the Neighborhood Watch program I run in my neighborhood. I was able to set up columns on the left and right side to list my block captains. The narrative would be in the middle.

I cannot find anything when I search that is similar. I keep on forgetting to call Apple, but since I just saw this forum, I thought I'd ask.

I have been very lucky these last 9 months as nothing of a criminal nature has occurred, so a flyer has not been needed.:sweatdrop:

Thanks for any help.

ocabj
08-31-2009, 10:31 PM
You can setup columns in Microsoft Word. You don't need Publisher.

The Mac has Word (Office 2008) or Pages in iWork:

http://www.apple.com/iwork/pages/

domokun
08-31-2009, 11:49 PM
You can setup columns in Microsoft Word. You don't need Publisher.

The Mac has Word (Office 2008) or Pages in iWork:

http://www.apple.com/iwork/pages/

You can also use Scribus for Mac if you're looking for a "Desktop Publishing" software that costs $0.

sfwdiy
09-01-2009, 2:58 AM
How do resolve the failed linking for libiconv when compiling PHP 5.3 (stable or latest snapshot) under OS 10.6?

Why are you doing this on 10.6? That's what linux is for. :nuts:

Kidding, of course. :p


Seriously though, you can't get PHP to compile properly on 10.6? Is this for a web server?

--B

ocabj
09-01-2009, 5:38 AM
Why are you doing this on 10.6? That's what linux is for. :nuts:

Kidding, of course. :p


Seriously though, you can't get PHP to compile properly on 10.6? Is this for a web server?

--B

I always install MySQL+PHP+Apache on my OS X boxes (I don't use the bundled php+apache) for local web dev. PHP 5.3 bundled works (and binaries from php.net). But compiling from source on 10.6 yields linker errors against liiconv and some dns libraries. It's a known issue on the php bug tracker. Supposedly fixed in snapshots, but not from what I found when I actually pulled a latest snapshot.

sned45
09-01-2009, 1:28 PM
How do you install Windows on one? :confused: :D

Boot Camp Windows install and link it with Parallels, this way you can run Windows stand alone or in VM.

sfwdiy
09-01-2009, 1:30 PM
I always install MySQL+PHP+Apache on my OS X boxes (I don't use the bundled php+apache) for local web dev. PHP 5.3 bundled works (and binaries from php.net). But compiling from source on 10.6 yields linker errors against liiconv and some dns libraries. It's a known issue on the php bug tracker. Supposedly fixed in snapshots, but not from what I found when I actually pulled a latest snapshot.

Huh. Gonna have to wait for the bug fix then, I guess. Why compile if the binaries work? Are you rolling your own custom code?

--B

ocabj
09-01-2009, 1:36 PM
Huh. Gonna have to wait for the bug fix then, I guess. Why compile if the binaries work? Are you rolling your own custom code?

--B

I come from the school of thought to always compile from source for your system. Matter of fact, I don't have any colleagues (coworkers or friends) that use pre-compiled Unix binaries. Plus, when you compile from source, it allows you to install in a jailed directory, as opposed to default paths like in /usr or /usr/local, which can poison the system's build environment, especially after you start updating a specific application.

i.e. I install things in the /inst directory, with /inst/pkg-ver and /inst/pkg as subdirs. If I want to compile and install Apache 2.2.13, I'll do a "./configure --prefix=/inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13 [other options] && make && make install" to put it in /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13. After that I'll symlink /inst/pkg/httpd to /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13. Then if say Apache 2.2.14 is released, I'll compile/install in /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.14 and test it. If it's good, I'll change the httpd symlink in /inst/pkg to /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.14. Then if for some reason I need to roll back to 2.2.13, I can.

TonyKat
09-01-2009, 2:02 PM
...I always install MySQL+PHP+Apache on my OS X boxes...

Why not just use the version that is already there?

EDIT: eh ok jailed directory i can see that logic, but I'm not a worry wort :p

TonyKat
09-01-2009, 2:06 PM
You can setup columns in Microsoft Word. You don't need Publisher.

The Mac has Word (Office 2008) or Pages in iWork:

http://www.apple.com/iwork/pages/

Or neo office http://www.neooffice.org/neojava/en/index.php

ocabj
09-01-2009, 2:07 PM
Look at my recent posts.

Not to mention that I do custom linking at compile time with various other dependencies.

Just because a Unix/Linux distribution comes with applications in the default install, it doesn't mean you should use them.

sfwdiy
09-01-2009, 2:42 PM
I come from the school of thought to always compile from source for your system. Matter of fact, I don't have any colleagues (coworkers or friends) that use pre-compiled Unix binaries. Plus, when you compile from source, it allows you to install in a jailed directory, as opposed to default paths like in /usr or /usr/local, which can poison the system's build environment, especially after you start updating a specific application.

i.e. I install things in the /inst directory, with /inst/pkg-ver and /inst/pkg as subdirs. If I want to compile and install Apache 2.2.13, I'll do a "./configure --prefix=/inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13 [other options] && make && make install" to put it in /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13. After that I'll symlink /inst/pkg/httpd to /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13. Then if say Apache 2.2.14 is released, I'll compile/install in /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.14 and test it. If it's good, I'll change the httpd symlink in /inst/pkg to /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.14. Then if for some reason I need to roll back to 2.2.13, I can.

Makes sense. I actually really like the idea of swapping symlinks to roll back to different versions of your install. I can see how that works really well in a development environment.

That said, I'm not a developer. :D Whenever I find myself in a position where the binaries or whatever's available from the repositories ain't cuttin' it, it's because I'm doing something that I have absolutely no actual use for and I'm just screwing around with things for the sake of it.

I wish you well on your compiling endeavors, with no more failing of dependency library checks. ;)

--B

ocabj
09-01-2009, 3:14 PM
Makes sense. I actually really like the idea of swapping symlinks to roll back to different versions of your install. I can see how that works really well in a development environment.
--B

Actually, this concept should be used in production as well. Particularly when you upgrade a specific package in a production service and weren't able to discover a bug during testing that only crops up after a few days of actual production use.

As far as being a developer, I'm not either. But as a systems administrator, more often that not you are doing things with packages/apps that aren't enabled in default binaries. Also, it's a good idea to always compile from source on your native system for optimizations which aren't present in a binary. Performance is very important when it comes to services used by your customers and/or clients (or in my case, the campus staff, faculty, and students).

Wild Squid
09-11-2009, 7:06 PM
Is it possible to load Ubuntu or any other flavor of Unix on one of the new 15" Macbook Pros? I don't really want to use VMware Fusion as I don't want to pay for it, and would rather dual boot the OSX and Linux. I've searched online, and there really hasn't been a definitive answer nor how to do so. I've asked at a genius bar in a Apple store and they said no it wasn't possible. But I suspect he's just saying that cause Apple tells him so. I haven't bought a new Macbook yet, but the ability to do the above is what I'm basing my decision on.

ocabj
09-11-2009, 7:37 PM
Yes, you can dual boot Ubuntu. There are how-to's on the Internet. I did it on my old Macbook (white) Core Duo.

Google search yielded this: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/MactelSupportTeam/AppleIntelInstallation

And you don't *have* to pay for VMWare. You can use VirtualBox (free).

TonyKat
09-12-2009, 8:14 AM
Is it possible to load Ubuntu or any other flavor of Unix on one of the new 15" Macbook Pros? I don't really want to use VMware Fusion as I don't want to pay for it, and would rather dual boot the OSX and Linux. I've searched online, and there really hasn't been a definitive answer nor how to do so. I've asked at a genius bar in a Apple store and they said no it wasn't possible. But I suspect he's just saying that cause Apple tells him so. I haven't bought a new Macbook yet, but the ability to do the above is what I'm basing my decision on.

Yeah it's easy. Macs are the same as pcs hardware wise. Boot to the os x instal disk, use disk utility to live partition the hard drive. Then install liux and lilo or grub and you're good to go. Google is your best friend here.

rosiekai
09-26-2009, 9:54 PM
Any idea why my iphone 3gs suddenly started pulling every email off of my server as a new message? It is showing 500+ new and 500+ unread. I delete them as they show up, but it just keeps bringing emails off of my server. I has been working fine since I got it in June until tonight.

I have 5 email accounts on the phone. It does not do this with my gmail account, just the others.

Thanks

Darklyte27
09-26-2009, 11:14 PM
Tested macbook air before its release while working at intel back in 06/07. we were running winxp, as macs used intel chipsets and cpus.

Richie Caketown
09-26-2009, 11:25 PM
Why are pcs better than macs?

best question yet :)

dude
09-26-2009, 11:32 PM
I come from the school of thought to always compile from source for your system. Matter of fact, I don't have any colleagues (coworkers or friends) that use pre-compiled Unix binaries. Plus, when you compile from source, it allows you to install in a jailed directory, as opposed to default paths like in /usr or /usr/local, which can poison the system's build environment, especially after you start updating a specific application.

i.e. I install things in the /inst directory, with /inst/pkg-ver and /inst/pkg as subdirs. If I want to compile and install Apache 2.2.13, I'll do a "./configure --prefix=/inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13 [other options] && make && make install" to put it in /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13. After that I'll symlink /inst/pkg/httpd to /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.13. Then if say Apache 2.2.14 is released, I'll compile/install in /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.14 and test it. If it's good, I'll change the httpd symlink in /inst/pkg to /inst/pkg-ver/httpd-2.2.14. Then if for some reason I need to roll back to 2.2.13, I can.

Ok, but then you have to add tons of paths in your $PATH env variable. That's annoying. I still compile certain packages when necessary, such as higher optimizations needed for time critical applications (like number crunching), or an application that doesn't provide binaries at all. Otherwise it's a loss of productivity. It was fun when I was in high school compiling my own distributions of Linux (very good learning experience), but now I don't see the point of compiling everything (other than learning).

berto
09-27-2009, 1:24 AM
What's the best way to upgrade my IIe?

Librarian
09-27-2009, 10:08 AM
What's the best way to upgrade my IIe?

New coat of paint, and installing a small fish tank (http://lowendmac.com/compact/macquarium.shtml) in place of the monitor. :D

old and wary
09-27-2009, 11:49 AM
Should I upgrade my OSX Ver10.4.11 183 ghz intel core 512 mb to leopard or do I need to do expensive stuff . have had for three years never a problem but thinking of upgrading Thanking you in advance

timdps
09-27-2009, 12:08 PM
My email program has recently decided it does not want to download my email.

OS X 10.4.11 The POP account is Enabled, but one (of two) account name is grayed out in "Mailbox: Get New Mail. Have reset the Enable a couple of times and restarted the machine

I can still send mail and am currently reading my email on the web.

thanks,

tim

JDay
09-27-2009, 8:21 PM
Is it possible to load Ubuntu or any other flavor of Unix on one of the new 15" Macbook Pros? I don't really want to use VMware Fusion as I don't want to pay for it, and would rather dual boot the OSX and Linux. I've searched online, and there really hasn't been a definitive answer nor how to do so. I've asked at a genius bar in a Apple store and they said no it wasn't possible. But I suspect he's just saying that cause Apple tells him so. I haven't bought a new Macbook yet, but the ability to do the above is what I'm basing my decision on.

OS X is UNIX certified.

whobob
09-29-2009, 12:50 AM
How about Ubuntu or Linux base? I have some questions.