PDA

View Full Version : CA Firearms Licensee Check System (CFLC)

rjk
08-23-2009, 10:51 AM
This question about the CFLC program has been nagging me for some time. I am a CA resident, have a current FFL03 and CA COE. I've been a follower of this site and work hard to be current and educated on the laws. When in doubt, I don’t do it. I find this site useful, but don’t recall that my questions have ever been covered.

The CA DOJ website says the following: “As of July 1, 2008, California Penal Code Section 12072(f)(1) [PDF 30 kb / 1 pg] prohibits all Federal Firearms Licensees (FFLs), other than Type 03 or 06 FFLs, from shipping firearms to an FFL in California unless, prior to delivery, the FFL intending to deliver, sell or transfer the firearms obtains a verification approval number from the California Department of Justice (CADOJ) Bureau of Firearms. This includes transfers that occur at gun shows.”

The phrase “other than Type 03 or 06 FFLs,” suggests that these FFLs can ship to CA (transfer in CA) without going through the CFLC program. How does this apply to the following?

1. Can an out-of-state FFL03 legally ship a C&R handgun to an in-state FFL01 without going through the CFLC?

2. Can an out-of-state FFL03 legally ship a C&R handgun to an in-state FFL03 without going through the CFLC?

3. Can a CA resident FFL03, when physically out of state, purchase a C&R handgun and legally ship it to themselves in CA without going through the CFLC?

Any input and thoughts are appreciated and I understand that this is not legal advice.

Librarian
08-23-2009, 11:28 AM
Assuming you can take the web site information as accurate (and I don't see anything in the actual law or regulations that suggests otherwise), the answer to question 1 appears to be 'yes', question 2 'no', and question 3 'probably'.