PDA

View Full Version : Going to the pistol range on a Motorcycle?

Bling Bling
03-10-2005, 11:24 AM
The weather has been getting better and I was thinking about this. Of course I have a locked case for mypistol and I store it separately from the ammo (unloaded). The only place I could really store it is in a backpack while I'm riding.

Obviously it's not a locked trunk but, it's not like I can unlock my case, grab my pistol off a back pack, load it, and fire while riding.

Bling Bling
03-10-2005, 11:24 AM
The weather has been getting better and I was thinking about this. Of course I have a locked case for mypistol and I store it separately from the ammo (unloaded). The only place I could really store it is in a backpack while I'm riding.

Obviously it's not a locked trunk but, it's not like I can unlock my case, grab my pistol off a back pack, load it, and fire while riding.

bwiese
03-10-2005, 11:29 AM
I am not a lawyer but...

I'd lean toward not having the lockbox w/gun in my backpack, but strapped to rear 'cargo' platform area or strapped to gas tank, etc. (I have no idea how your bike is structured). Keep the ammo in the backpack, that's OK.

Whatever the law reads, a cop might still bust you for CCW in backpack and let the DA sort it out.

Anonymous Coward
03-10-2005, 7:01 PM
I don't think the concealment part of the locked box in the backpack is an issue. You could have the backpack sitting on the passenger seat in a car and be OK.

However PC 12026.1. (a)(1) says :
The firearm is *within* a motor vehicle and it is locked in the vehicle's trunk or in a locked container in the vehicle other than the utility or glove compartment.

That *within* might constructed as not being fulfilled - with the firearm being on your back and not enclosed by the vehicle.

A safer bet would be to have a top box or side bags on your motorcycle (and possibly ones that aren't just strapped on).

If you call the DOJ please report back, I'd be interested to knowing this too.