PDA

View Full Version : Dealy of transfer question

ledman
08-17-2009, 6:35 PM
I have been purchasing firearms for over 20 years, NEVER had one hiccup. I hold a current C&R 03 FFL. I recently purchased from a friend at work, a 53Russian SKS and a Mossberg 590 shotgun. I have not purchased a weapon in over 4 years. We did a DROS at Turners in Orange CA. Somehow Turners had my old number and was not able to contact me. I go to pick up my firearms today, and there is a delay notice. This is my first ever PPT that has been DROS'ed. Everything else I did was with my C&R for C&R guns only. Maybe thats why? becasueit's a PPT?
I call the CA DOJ and they want a copy of my DD-214. SO, I faxed one over as requested. No what? Will they call me, or Turners to release the firearms? Is there a time limit for the CA DOJ to respond? If they do not respond, can Turners release the firearms legally to me after a certain amount of time?
I just wondered, why? I do not have a dishonorable discharge. I have no criminal record. The guy are Turners said it could just be a random check, and not to worry about it as long as I do not have a dishonorable discharge.

Just curious if any of you have insight on this.

Thanks in advance!

Fjold
08-17-2009, 6:49 PM
Someone with your same name got a Dishonorable. They should be able to verify it from SSNs.

ledman
08-17-2009, 6:52 PM
Someone with your same name got a Dishonorable. They should be able to verify it from SSNs.

Ahhh...OK, that would explain it, they must have gotten it recently, or within the last 4 years or so as it's never been an issue. Even the BATF did not require a copy of my DD-214 when I got my 03 FFL.
I forgot to mention, I was discharged in Nov. 1990
Thanks for your quick answer!

ke6guj
08-17-2009, 7:07 PM