PDA

View Full Version : what are your suggestions on how to clean polymer pistols???

marbles71
08-13-2009, 4:21 PM
i am pretty new to polymers, and i have a H&K USP coming in next week...

i was planning to clean the metal parts like any other pistol, like my 1911, with Hoppe's 9. however, how am i supposed to clean the plastic frame??? i really have no idea how to approach cleaning off the carbon from plastic without damaging it.

what other tools and materials should i have? what kinds of chemicals should i use?

it would be great to hear from you polymer pistol folks...especially H&K, Glock, Springer XD people

thanks,
marbles71

p7m8jg
08-13-2009, 4:23 PM
Hoppes has worked on my Glock 19. Every part, steel or polymer. Going on many years....

Legasat
08-13-2009, 4:36 PM
I use Hoppes the same way on ALL of my guns.

Unit74
08-13-2009, 4:38 PM
Same same for me.... scrub-a-dub-dub.....

The Tech-1
08-13-2009, 4:39 PM
Same thing here

kegs
08-13-2009, 4:39 PM
Copper cutter, can't remember the brand - I think you're 100% fine so long as you don't soak the polymer in it for a long period of time (e.g. no soaking overnight like you might do with a barrel).

Been doing this to my Walther P99 for years and the plastic looks 100% perfect still.

hybridatsun350
08-13-2009, 4:51 PM
Usually a quick wipe of the inside of the frame with a paper shop towel gets the inside of my Glocks looking good. No solvent needed. The carbon doesn't seem to stick to the polymer like it does to metal.

Voo
08-13-2009, 5:20 PM
Usually a quick wipe of the inside of the frame with a paper shop towel gets the inside of my Glocks looking good. No solvent needed. The carbon doesn't seem to stick to the polymer like it does to metal.

I would agree. There's nothing special you need to do to clean the polymer other than wipe it down. The gunk from shooting doesn't stick very well to the polymer- it just seems to wipe away.