PDA

View Full Version : Thursday matches at Iron Sights in Oceanside

MustangO4
08-12-2009, 8:59 PM
Has anyone shot them and have any experiences to share. I have never shot any competition and am thinking of going to give it a shot. I have my guns, mags ammo and holsters. I have plenty of pistol experience in my own hobby and in the .mil, but like I said, no matches. So, what advice do you have to share? Thanks-John

Voo
08-12-2009, 10:58 PM
Hey John,

I shoot the Thursday matches at Ironsights fairly regularly.

The events change every week and range from "Fun Steel, IPSC, Man on Man, Mystery Match". It's a very laid back atomsphere but you do have those that compete regularly so you do end up with both ends of the spectrum in terms of skill. With Camp Pendleton so close, we get a decent number of MIL guys coming out- everything from MIL instructors to regular peeps (like me).

New shooters are ALWAYS welcome. The only thing really expected is a) $12.00 for the match fee b) safe gun handling :-) We dont' discriminate on skill levels or looks :X just come out and expect to have a good time is all there really is too it.

I would say bring 150 rounds of ammo, 4 spare magazines (more is always good), @ least 3 magazine carriers, OWB/IWB hip or drop leg holster (no small of back, or shoulder rigs- for safety reasons) eyes/ears and a working gun.

Thurs. Aug 13th will be the Man on Man. Matches start at 7:00 PM. This is a pretty fun event and will have you shooting both on the move and statically at paper and reactive steel plates/poppers in a race to beat the guy whos' starting on the opposite end of the stage. It's a very VERY popular event.