PDA

View Full Version : What's better: Stainless or Carbon Steel

bin31z
08-09-2009, 2:23 AM
I have some knowledge about steels as far as cutlery goes. Assuming correctly heat treated, carbon steels will always be harder and more durable as far as edge retetion but are more prone to chipping. Stainless steels are more "gummy" and are usually softer than carbon steels. Besides the corrosion resistance issue, which material will stand up better to long term use in firearms?

Miltiades
08-09-2009, 5:58 AM
I presume you are speaking of handgun applications for the steel, and not knives - although you gave a knife example.

I have both carbon steel and stainless steel handguns, and have good experiences with both in terms of functioning. I will admit to a slight preference for stainless steel handguns for a few reasons:

1. Stainless doesn't seem to rust, unlike carbon steel.
2. Stainless doesn't show surface wear like blued or blackened carbon steel, so the gun always looks newer.
3. I like the color of a stainless gun.

Here is a gratuitous photo of three of my stainless guns:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o25/pogo2/Three45s02-1.jpg

Bigballaizm
08-09-2009, 8:52 AM
Milt has valid points, also I have to agree that Stainless just looks better... To me!!

sholling
08-09-2009, 9:27 AM
Blued steel is beautiful but I'm a fan of stainless and some of the high tech treatments like Melonite. Both are beautiful and neither shows much surface wear.

But let's knock out a myth "stainless doesn't rust". The grades of stainless used in firearms are rust resistant and not "rust proof". If you don't take care of it then it will rust.

Melonite over stainless, the best of both worlds.
http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u197/damnfineguy/My%20Toys%20800/PC1911NS.jpg

Katana
08-09-2009, 11:32 AM
Here is a discussion about gun steel with some metallurgists weighing in-

http://yarchive.net/gun/gun_steels.html