PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for custom Colt 1911

2new
08-05-2009, 11:30 PM
I was going to buy a Nighthawk Custom GRP at the beginning of the year, but the company I worked for went bankrupt, so I held off. Been looking at the semi customs from Bear, Wilson, NHC, but I hate when someone will post "I have that exact same gun"! I have a budget of around 3500, for the gun and work to be preformed. It will be used as a range gun, personal defense, and hopefully carry. Im not a colt expert, what year colt would be a good platform and fit my budget? Who would you guns recommend to do the custom work? Any imput will be appreciated.

cmace22
08-05-2009, 11:53 PM
What kind of custom work do you want done. You should be able to buy a custom work of art from the manufacturers you have listed. what else is needed.

If you want to build something from scratch. Get yourself a SA milspec 1911 and use the frame for your build. Pick the parts you want then send it off to the builder of your choice.

aplinker
08-06-2009, 12:18 AM
If you're spending that much in custom work, start with a base 70 series Colt.

Smiths are heavily impacted right now. VERY heavily. I don't know any top smiths who don't have waiting lists through next year and they're not accepting orders.

You'll want to look at examples from all the smiths on Louder Than Words.

I'm a big fan of Ned Christiansen.

Add in guys like Hilton Yam, John Jardine, Steve Morrison... the list goes on.

It's a big personal preference thing here.

What kind of custom work do you want done. You should be able to buy a custom work of art from the manufacturers you have listed. what else is needed.

If you want to build something from scratch. Get yourself a SA milspec 1911 and use the frame for your build. Pick the parts you want then send it off to the builder of your choice.

bin31z
08-06-2009, 12:25 AM