PDA

View Full Version : Glock 17 9mm 33rd mags into 40 s&w?

TZL
08-01-2009, 2:14 PM
So I just added my first 40 s&w to the collection (G35)

So here is a question, I have about two dozen pre-ban G17 17rounders and 8 or 9 33 rounders....

I'm pretty sure its ok to rebuild G17 17 rounders into G22 15 rounder 40 s&w mags....using rebuild kits and documenting destroying the old parts etc...

But is there anyway to alter the 33 rounders to hold/feed 40 S&W? just for fun i think it would be cool to have a couple of 25+ rounders in 40 s&W

anyone know if this is possible /fesible? or are the parts just not compatible?

thanks in advance,

TZL

One Shot, One Dropped
08-01-2009, 9:08 PM
Legally, I believe there is some requirement that you can rebuild mags only so long as the modifications don't render them unusable in the original gun they were designed for, but I'm not good at finding correct laws to back such things up. I think changing calibers could be an issue, but since the mags should fit in a .40 model too, I bet you could still use them in the 9mm (nobody says it has to feed really well ("Yeah, I rebuilt a mag poorly, how about that", or something)) even after you modify them. I don't know, I'm not the most knowledgeable on Glocks and this matter specifically. I'm also very surprised nobody has chimed in yet.

As far as physical possibility/feasibility, I believe you would just have to modify the lips and possibly the follower (or maybe just the lips, or maybe nothing).

Anyone else?

TZL
08-02-2009, 9:35 AM
yeah I know that 9mm mags fit in the 35 frame b/c 9mm conversions on a 40S&W using lone wolf barrels run g17 mags...so the bodies are good to go

There isn't a huge different in weight of 9mm and 40S&W so i'm assuming the springs will work, so probably just a new follower and maybe tweaking the feedlips....

anyone else have ideas or input?

C_1
08-02-2009, 2:51 PM