PDA

View Full Version : I want to be a police officer!

k3nnex
07-28-2009, 4:42 PM
Hey guys, I'm 22 years old and my life dream is to become a firefighter. However, in San Jose it is very competitive to land a firefighting job. I always liked the idea of becoming a cop.

Alright here is my background, tell me if you guys think I would be a likely candidate in the police force. I am 22 year old student at SJSU, I am currently finishing up my B.S. in business management. After I graduate SJSU I plan on finishing up my A.S. in Firefighting, as well as becoming a paramedic.

Currently I am an insurance broker. I am also an Eagle Scout, I have been in boy scouts for about 10-12 years and currently I am a Cub Scout leader.

I am Vietnamese, I can speak and read Vietnamese, I can't write though. I am 5'7" weighing at 170. During HS I was about 130 lbs, I was determined to bulk up and become a firefighter so I went to the gym and now I weigh a healthy 170lbs.

I have a clean record. No problems before or after high school. I have a clean driving record. However I have had my share of drug experimenting back in the days, I kicked all of it during my first semester in college.

Now that you have evaluated me, do you guys think I would be a good candidate for a PD or CHP? I am tired of office work and I would really like to do something more physical and more productive ;)

fullrearview
07-28-2009, 4:50 PM
Nope.....You have no chance.... Apply after I get hired full time:43:

j/k
sounds OK to me...Go on a few ride-a-longs with chp, police and sheriff to get a feel for the job. Try small and large departments.

k3nnex
07-28-2009, 4:56 PM
Do I need to go change my major or anything? I know SJSU offers a criminal justice program, however I was hoping I could just go around that.

fullrearview
07-28-2009, 5:08 PM