PDA

View Full Version : Observation/Question on Jams

Mugwump
04-10-2005, 9:45 PM
This past year I made an effort to purchase a variety of .308 and .223 rifles. One thing common to all of them is that they often jam. As a result, I've made an effort to learn to do as much of the repair/maintenance myself and try to keep them as clean as possible.

However, this got me to wondering what it would be like if I had to carry as a professional, such as a LEO or in the military. They must experience a higher number of problems than I often find on these boards since they (military) go through a higher number of rounds in a shorter period of time. This would be extremely concerning to have to rely on a piece of equipment that could protect my life, and not knowing if it was 100% reliable.

One thing in favor of the M1A and Cali-FAL, is that you have ready access to a jam since the top of the receiver is exposed. I would be somewhat more concerned if I was a professional carrying something like an HK product (MP5, G3). What do you do if one of those things jams?

I would assume LEOs have access to an armory that could work out most of the kinks, and keep them squeaky clean, however I would think the military, especially in Iraq, would be screwed with all of the dust and sand and the tolerances associated with US military rifles.

Any thoughts?

Mugwump
04-10-2005, 9:45 PM
This past year I made an effort to purchase a variety of .308 and .223 rifles. One thing common to all of them is that they often jam. As a result, I've made an effort to learn to do as much of the repair/maintenance myself and try to keep them as clean as possible.