PDA

View Full Version : Is it still considered a firearm if

Safonator
07-26-2009, 4:11 PM
it is dissasembled, Would that constitute posession of a firearm, or just parts? Would it matter if the upper and lower were at seperate locations? Jst trying get clarification on the definition, as i have read here having a lower doesnt mean you necessarily have a firearm as i am trying to avoid any implications when i decide to do my build.:confused:

Mstrty
07-26-2009, 4:16 PM
it is dissasembled, Would that constitute posession of a firearm, or just parts? Would it matter if the upper and lower were at seperate locations? Jst trying get clarification on the definition, as i have read here having a lower doesnt mean you necessarily have a firearm as i am trying to avoid any implications when i decide to do my build.:confused:
IIRC The lower is the firearm. Assembled or not. ready to fire or not. This doesnt mean its a loaded firearm but it is a firearm as per any law. (im not a lawyer.)
Plenty of people will chime in with more knowledge than I so I will sit back and watch.

69Mach1
07-26-2009, 4:17 PM
Firearms laws here are intricate. What firearm are you talking about building? AR rifle, AR pistol, or other? If you're trying to avoid creating an illegal CA assault weapon, remember there is no constructive possession for them.

Safonator
07-26-2009, 4:20 PM
Firearms laws here are intricate. What firearm are you talking about building?

I was considering an OLL AR or possible variant already built. Going to be moving in a few weeks, so i am putting it on hold, and educating myself now.

packnrat
07-26-2009, 11:33 PM
As I have understood it,

the part with the ser # is a firearm. all the "other" parts are just....parts.
so on the "ar" style it would be the lower, even with no parts in/on it.
A standard bolt action rifle it would be the part that the bolt "rides" in.

dilligaffrn
07-27-2009, 7:24 AM
As I have understood it,