PDA

View Full Version : LEO Scholarships

Fire in the Hole
07-23-2009, 7:09 PM
Okay guys if any one can provide an answer I'd appreciate it. I'm a full-time college student, and retired LEO. During the last tewo years, I numbed my fingers on the internet, scoured through all the scholarship catalogs at my college, picked my counselor's brain, done my FASFA's, etc. Nothing. Does anybody know of any scholarships offered for retired LEO's pursuing a degree program. I've applied for 20 generic ones, through the college and have been denied.

masameet
07-25-2009, 1:42 AM
If your school is listed on this website (http://www.osherfoundation.org/index.php?reentry), consider applying. It's not for retired cops per se but for re-entry adult college students.

And I found one Florida-based non-profit that was awarding disabled and retired cops a scholarship. But the award was only $1,000 per calendar year.

Also beware: There's one particular site that if you click on it (via a Google search on retired policeman scholarship, page 2), it'll be a malicious spyware/bot takeover thingee. I was using Safari and quit the browser as soon as I could. In deleting the ".exe" program that the malicious firmware had rapidly downloaded to my computer, my system noted that some 1200 items had been part of the unwelcomed and unasked for DL process.

retired
07-25-2009, 12:04 PM
masameet, I just checked the link you provided (not the spyware one lol) and found the below. Unless he is an undergraduate student he is out of luck.

Proposals for Osher Reentry Scholarship grants are accepted by invitation only. The Foundation only supports 4-year institutions that serve reentry students for this program. Osher Reentry Scholarships may be awarded to students who
have experienced a cumulative gap in their education of five or more years;
are at the undergraduate level and pursuing their first baccalaureate degree;