PDA

View Full Version : Wanting to be an LEO but have questionable backgroun

ARsiple
07-21-2009, 5:22 PM
I have been considering being an LEO for about 2 or 3 years now, I am currently working as an event security officer at a major Orange County venue and am also a student in the local community college. I am still thinking long and hard about being an LEO and am still waiting to better myself as a person and giving myself some time before I actually go and apply. The only issue that I have is that I have had a questionable background in my juvenile years:(; when I was 15 years old I was arrested for misdemeanor vandalism under $500 and received formal probation for 1 year which I have completed and plan on never to experience again. I have also gone through an "experimental" stage from the 9-12 grade in high school where I was hanging with the wrong people and was exposed to marijuana and other illicit drugs:(:(:(, I am now 20 years old and have quit doing drugs while my former friends are still partaking in drug use. I have thought about a career in law enforcement for a long time and would do whatever is takes to make the cut, is there any possibility that I would even be considered for a LEO position with my questionable past and what I should do to be ahead of the curve (majors, classes, pre-academy training etc). Any and all opinions and advice would be very helpful.

gotgunz
07-21-2009, 5:24 PM
Relax, there are fine officers everywhere with juvenile records that your prior issues don't even compare!

ARsiple
07-21-2009, 5:28 PM
so there is hope........SWEET:)

Fire in the Hole
07-21-2009, 5:39 PM
Being as young as your are, with your future ahead of you, I recommend going into the military as an MP in any of the branches. You'll get the fortitude, benifits, disicipline, and adaptability needed for an LE career. And it will bolster your chances in the competition. Recruiters love veterans.

Cpl. Haas
07-21-2009, 5:50 PM
+1 to what Fire in the Hole said...