PDA

View Full Version : Range shade cover?

blackbok
07-21-2009, 8:10 AM
After the last sunburned trip to Burro, I want to get a shade canopy. Looking for any insight into these as I have no experience. I think a 9' x 9' would work. Had one in my hand at walmart last night, but the canopy material seemed a bit cheap.

Anything I should look for/avoid?

Price IS an issue.

SCMA-1
07-21-2009, 8:30 AM
I got mine long ago from Sportsmansguide but I don't see it any longer. It is an alloy frame 10x10 that is very light but strong. I think the steel framed ones are cheap and tend to break. Mine cost me a mere $60 on sale and it has worked great. I'd pay up to $100 for one.

SCMA-1

rod
07-21-2009, 8:41 AM
I bought one at Big-5 a few years ago. After a few trips to the river, it got all tore up and bent. I took it back to Big-5 and they gave me a brand new one. No questions asked and no paperwork or receipt needed.

Dangerous1
07-21-2009, 11:01 AM
That EZ-up thing at Walmart is VERY durable. I've had one outside our work, tied down, and its been through hell and back for the past 3 years with wind, rain and sun beating down on it. I'd suggest lighter colors. Just don't expect it to be tear resistant.

domokun
07-21-2009, 12:24 PM
Get an EZ-Up. They're a staple of every swim meet I've ever attended as a spectator when I was kid.

blackbok
07-21-2009, 12:30 PM
That EZ-up thing at Walmart is VERY durable. I've had one outside our work, tied down, and its been through hell and back for the past 3 years with wind, rain and sun beating down on it. I'd suggest lighter colors. Just don't expect it to be tear resistant.

Good deal, just wanted to make sure they weren't junk. I noticed they have a few different sizes/prices, which one did you get?

aplinker
07-21-2009, 12:44 PM
My experience: Buy an EZ-up

On trips to Baja, every other shade and several tents were eaten by wind. The EZ-ups all survived.

Dangerous1
07-21-2009, 12:58 PM