PDA

View Full Version : Taught my sis how to shoot today. She's darn good too!

ERdept
07-21-2009, 12:25 AM
My sis and I both grew up in a gun family. We were born in Texas.

I started shooting when I was 7.

But she never fired a gun before. Not until a few days ago.

She pushed for a session so I took her to the range and instructed her on the rules of safety outside the firing lanes.

Then sight picture and grip and what to do when handed any gun.

We drilled this over and over, till I felt comfy.

We started out with the .22 Buckmark then moved on to the XD 9mm

She held steady through all the recoil and actually grouped. The guys in the lane next to us began wondering who was showing them up.

Myself and cousin were amazed as well. Anyway, she exclaimed, "I think I found my new hobby"!

Looks like another one joins the club. Tried the cuz's .45 and put it down after two rounds.

http://i719.photobucket.com/albums/ww197/ERdept/0718091418.jpg

http://i719.photobucket.com/albums/ww197/ERdept/0718091325.jpg

Hayashi Killian
07-21-2009, 1:01 AM
Good job! The more people we can get shooting as either recreation, hobby or for training the better. I know my mom has shot before, as did my dad, but it's been a long time. Once I start my collection I'll be getting my family out there as much as I can.

Libertus
07-21-2009, 1:15 AM
This looks like Insight shooting range, I go there all the time.

Good job on getting another person interested! :)

Cameron
07-21-2009, 1:57 AM
Way to go!

I just talked my girlfriend into buying a '53 Russian SKS. She's half Russian, so it's all about heritage ;)

Her dad had a few .22s and a few other larger guns and takes her, and her sister shooting every couple months. She also loved the fact that she got a nicer SKS than me...

SCMA-1
07-21-2009, 5:46 AM
Right on! Great job.:thumbsup: Perhaps you can help her work on her grip next? This video should be helpful:

ysa50-plo48

THT
07-21-2009, 6:55 AM