PDA

View Full Version : Glock 20 for first pistol?

nrakid88
07-18-2009, 11:34 AM
I have been shooting mostly a 1911 for a couple years, probably about 600 rounds of 45acp experience, and I am turning 21 soon. I plan on getting a glock 20 in 10mm, and reloading for it. 180 grains, 1280 fps, 661foot ppounds energy, 20 cents a round. I just wanted to know what you guys think. I like glock frames, they fit my hands better. And I dont think the recoil will be too much to get used to. Plus I can reload 10mm for cheaper that 9mm costs at the store. Anyone think this is a good or bad idea? Im not completely against getting a G17, but prefer a cartridge that will do its job. Plus I am thinking if I find the 10mm to be a little to much power, I can always down load it to FBI specs.

THT
07-18-2009, 11:36 AM
Have you shot one? If not, would suggest you shoot one before plunking down the cash for one. What are you planning on doing with it?

nrakid88
07-18-2009, 11:43 AM
I am planning on using it for target practice, carrying when I go camping or hiking, and HD.

nrakid88
07-18-2009, 11:45 AM
Ive shot a glock 21 too so I am thinking the two should be comparable. I dont know anyone with a glock 20, and I dont think any ranges around here rent them out.

Greg-Dawg
07-18-2009, 11:52 AM
Go for it.

sierrawoodsman
07-18-2009, 11:55 AM
There .40 S&W conversion barrels for it so you could shoot cheaper for target pratice. I would say go for it.

locosway
07-18-2009, 11:58 AM
http://lpfr.com/LPFR/Home.html has a Glock 20 for rent.

The 10mm is a superior round and you CAN get a .40 S&W barrel for the Glock 20 to switch between the two in a matter of seconds.

Also if you're reloading you can use most of the same equipment for the 10mm and the .40.

SJgunguy24
07-18-2009, 11:59 AM
I'd shoot one first. If you go with a 20 you can build a 45acp upper and just slap it on.

Z ME FLY
07-18-2009, 12:07 PM