PDA

View Full Version : m1a socom - scope and red dot/holo/reflex?


speeddreamz
07-10-2009, 5:17 PM
I have a m1a socom and a sadlak scope mount, got a scope on that, but that leaves the original scope mount open, anyone ever use it in conjunction with a 2nd optic such as a red dot , holosight, or reflex sight?

I can still see irons without anything on the original m1a rail, so right now I have irons and a scope...


Want to see your guy's setups?

I was thinking possibly a magnifier plus a holosight...


I barely shoot this thing past 25 yards, but when I get the chance i'd like atleast 2-4x.


Other option I was thinking was a red dot with an adjustable magnification, although the only option I see is the spectr elcan which is $$$$$$$

aplinker
07-10-2009, 5:21 PM
I use an Aimpoint M3 in a low mount on my KAC rail. An EOTech is tall and sits too high, but you probably have a cheek riser for your scope. I prefer Aimpoints now.

Meopta K-Dot and Trij Accupoint are also an option over the Elcan, but you'll need a scope mount, still.

speeddreamz
07-10-2009, 5:30 PM
I use an Aimpoint M3 in a low mount on my KAC rail. An EOTech is tall and sits too high, but you probably have a cheek riser for your scope. I prefer Aimpoints now.

Meopta K-Dot and Trij Accupoint are also an option over the Elcan, but you'll need a scope mount, still.

Can't do anything with both my scope + the aimpoint right?

aplinker
07-10-2009, 5:42 PM
Can't do anything with both my scope + the aimpoint right?

You can, but the dot will look big in the scope if it's highly magnified.

I've seen people do it.

speeddreamz
07-10-2009, 6:18 PM
You can, but the dot will look big in the scope if it's highly magnified.

I've seen people do it.

Well, I was thinking about getting something thats mounted low, so I can see it thru or below the scope mount.

Maybe one of those small pistol reflex sights. don't remember what they're called but i've seen it mounted its not too big on the handgun

aplinker
07-10-2009, 7:23 PM
Well, I was thinking about getting something thats mounted low, so I can see it thru or below the scope mount.

Maybe one of those small pistol reflex sights. don't remember what they're called but i've seen it mounted its not too big on the handgun

Oh... I get what you're thinking now.

unless you have a TON of room under your scope, I don't think it will work.

Your sight line goes through the rail (the rail is actually quite tall).

The lowest red-dot mounts are about 1/4" above rail height.

sevans
07-10-2009, 7:23 PM
I'm using an aimpoint h-1 on the ultimak rail that allows co-witness with the iron sights.

aplinker
07-10-2009, 7:27 PM
I'm using an aimpoint h-1 on the ultimak rail that allows co-witness with the iron sights.

The Ultimak isn't a SOCOM rail. The Ultimak is a great real, the SOCOM is not.

Co-witnessing is the bees knees. I wish I could roll that way, too. :(

Maybe I should dump my KAC for an Ultimak.

Crazed_SS
07-10-2009, 7:49 PM
I has a Busnell Holosight. It works nicely.

http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee298/crazed1x/gats/IMG_0442.jpg

mblat
07-10-2009, 8:14 PM
I have ultimak with EOTech.......... I thought I may be able to co-witnes, but EOTech is too high for that.

But I love the combo......

palakaboy
07-10-2009, 10:51 PM
i'll be picking up an aimpoint T1 for my M1a soon.

or maybe a burris fastfire- try looking into those!

speeddreamz
07-11-2009, 1:20 PM
Was thinking maybe the burris

akspetsnaz
07-11-2009, 3:41 PM
Trijicon Reflex RX-30

Large viewing window!
http://trijicon.com/user/parts/products1.cfm?PartID=640&back_row=1&categoryID=8

speeddreamz
07-11-2009, 3:54 PM
Trijicon Reflex RX-30

Large viewing window!
http://trijicon.com/user/parts/products1.cfm?PartID=640&back_row=1&categoryID=8

What else is a holo/reflex/red dot with a low profile mount.

akspetsnaz
07-11-2009, 4:37 PM
What else?

I had a NF 1x on my SOCOM also.
http://www.nightforceoptics.com/SCOPES_OVERVIEW/COMPACT_NXS_MODELS_/compact1-4x24nxs/compact1-4x24nxs.html