PDA

View Full Version : Tell me your body armor tricks!

Spyder
07-07-2009, 6:33 PM
Any little tricks or hints to make this crap more comfortable... I've been wearing it for 7 months now and its not horrible at all, but any little bit of comfort I can get, I'll be happy with!

retired
07-07-2009, 7:02 PM
They have come out with thinner and more comfortable vests since I retired 6yrs. ago and left the field in 1997 and I don't know what the new ones are like. I cannot give you any help with your question, tho I am sure some of the active leos here will.

I will advise this tho if I may: No matter how uncomfortable or how hot they make you, please NEVER, EVER not wear it. I am not saying that is your intention; I'm just giving you my 2 cents.

I always thought of it this way; Is it better to be hot and uncomfortable wearing your vest in 100+ degree weather or cold and clammy in your coffin because you didn't.

Just something to think about.

Hope you get some suggestions from the active leos. Take care and be safe.

CaliTheKid
07-07-2009, 7:06 PM
The one they issued me is much less comfortable than the one I bought for myself and ironically the one I bought has a higher NIJ rating.

Are you wearing a regular t-shirt or a spandex type 5.11 or UA shirt with it?

Jwood562
07-08-2009, 12:58 AM
use under armor shrits first of all.

second, take a few mintues and fid the right adjustments for you. make sure it is not to tight or close yto your neck...

the last adjustmentshould be the waist area around your stomach.

also make sure to pull on it and blow inside as much as you can on a hot summer day

Spyder
07-08-2009, 5:41 AM
Right now I'm just wearing a simple white cotton t under it. Planning on black short sleeve or sleeveless underarmor as soon as I'm allowed. It's Second Chance, I believe, and is actually very light and thin.