PDA

View Full Version : high cap mags.

offthewall85
06-28-2009, 9:25 AM
I am a LE Officer (not sworn peace officer) in the U.S. Coast Guard, i was reading a cal penal code SECTION 12020-12040 (19) is states that "for use by agency employees in the discharge of their official duties whether on or off duty, and
where the use is authorized by the agency and is within the course
and scope of their duties.

does this apply to me at all?

thanks alot

goathead
06-28-2009, 9:57 AM
for your own guns or ?????

offthewall85
06-28-2009, 1:54 PM
either one.

my own rifle, i can buy the mags?, we are issued lots of gear, what if the mags were issued?

CSACANNONEER
06-28-2009, 2:14 PM
Wow, that's a great question for your first post here. I don't know the answer for sure but, since you are not a sworn LEO, I sort of doubt that most high-cap vendors would be willing to sell to you without something in writting.

goathead
06-28-2009, 3:01 PM
to be safe i say no

bohoki
06-28-2009, 3:03 PM
i say if someone can legally sell them to you then you can use them

Coastey
06-28-2009, 5:29 PM
I've been retired a few years, but I still think the following is true. Yes, if you're an E-4 or above you are a Federal Maritime Law Enforcement Officer, but not always acting in that capacity. When you're actually on duty and issued your weapons for boardings and patrol, you'll be issued hi-caps. When you're not on duty, unless you're CGI, you're not authorized to carry by your Command and must abide by the local laws of the State you're stationed in. If your Command issues you orders to be armed, they'll also issue you weapons. Personal weapons are no longer allowed, as they once were in the 70's and before (at least they were by default...no one said we couldn't).

offthewall85
06-28-2009, 6:07 PM
thanks alot for all the info

scr83jp
06-28-2009, 11:42 PM