PDA

View Full Version : Boy did I feel old today...

sgtbuck
06-26-2009, 9:36 PM
I was giving my Daughter's Boyfriend a ride home tonight from high school band practice. My Wife and Daughter were both in the car. The subject came up that I was an Officer and retired a few years ago. He asked how long ago did you first start being a Police Officer? I still can't believe what I said? I asked him when were you born? He said 1992.:eek: I said since before you were born.....

nobody33
06-26-2009, 11:04 PM
More than a few of the people I've worked with started before I was born (83).

Fire in the Hole
06-27-2009, 6:37 AM
More than a few of the people I've worked with started before I was born (83).

You want a reality pill? Here's one for ya. Find out that your new SGT, Lt., or Capt. wasn't born yet when you started on the job, and now he/she is telling you how to do your job. That one will slap your jowls.

stphnman20
06-27-2009, 6:42 AM
You want a reality pill? Here's one for ya. Find out that your new SGT, Lt., or Capt. wasn't born yet when you started on the job, and now he/she is telling you how to do your job. That one will slap your jowls.
I know how that feels.. When we get a brand new butter bar and he starts barking orders, we look at him think WTF? :D

Jonathan Doe
06-27-2009, 7:21 AM
Some recruits from the academy classes that I taught were born after I got on the department. And I see some sgt's and Lt's were recruits when I was in the training bureau, and I trained them. I feel old.

yzernie
06-27-2009, 2:37 PM
I feel your pain. A couple weeks ago, just for shts and grins, after day and swing briefings I started asking the kids when they were born. I was laughing when I found out that I had an average of 5 years on before they were even born. I just smiled when I thought I'll be enjoying my retirement for years before most of them even make it to Sgt. One kid told me his grandpa was just a couple years older than me...WTH???!!! :D

sgtbuck