PDA

View Full Version : Need a Mentor (90503)

esquesk
06-25-2009, 3:13 PM
Hey Guys!

I'm new to Cal Guns and I've just purchased my first handgun. After the ten day wait period I was wondering if somebody could teach me the basics. I'm not going to pretend to be an expert, all of my "experience" comes from reading up on basic safety and watching youtube videos.

Maybe somebody could meet me at a range and teach me the basics? I'll cover the lane/ammo costs :)

I live close to the Torrance/LAX ranges so if you're nearby let me know!

A little bit of an introduction as well;

I'm a 21 year old finance major at Loyola Marymount University. I come from an Asian family and as far as I know, am the first in my family to ever own a handgun. I've grown up in SoCal my entire life and am eager to learn as much as I can.

Thanks for reading!

Z ME FLY
06-25-2009, 3:50 PM
Too bad you aren't in NorCal, I could help you out a bit.

KaTooM
06-25-2009, 5:33 PM
I would take the Hunters safety course first, even if you never plan to hunt. Then take a beginners pistol class...be safe.

Trapper
06-25-2009, 8:49 PM
If you are in the SD area send me a PM. I have been shooting for 30 years, in the military for 20 years and a member at three ranges.

esquesk
06-29-2009, 11:03 AM
Thanks for the responses! I'm in SD once in awhile so I'll make sure to PM you next time I go.

If there's anybody in LA just let me know :) Still trying to learn the basics..

CSACANNONEER
06-29-2009, 11:16 AM
I would suggest driving out to Angeles instead of going to the homie range at LAX. I'm probably taking on too much already but, I could meet you sometime for a lesson or two. If you want to come up to my place, we could go over basics using airsoft guns.

barrym66
06-29-2009, 11:53 AM
Smart man - I really appreciate the fact that you've asked for help.