PDA

View Full Version : Single Action Revolvers?

Great Equalizer
06-23-2009, 12:02 AM
First let me say hello to everyone. I'm new here, this is my first post, I'm not new to shooting, but I'm new to sport shooting. My question is: how do I choose a good Single Action Revolver? I'm not looking to compete in CAS or anything, but I do want a reputable weapon, not one that brings laughter and whispers at the sight of her, definitely a cowboy style SAR probably a .45. Main use will be protection in the home, from wife and others :eek:, and protection when outdoors. I see so many and don't know what to choose. The price range I would like to stay in is $400 - $600. There's Uberti, Cimarron, Taylor's & Co., the Ruger Vaquero, and the Beretta Stampede to name a few that I've seen. Any or all would be great. Can some give some incite please? Thanks!

Rekrab
06-23-2009, 12:11 AM
I was fondling a few at Fowler's just the other day, really like the heft and feel of the Rugers. Hated the Beretta. I believe they had a .44 50th Anniversary Blackhawk for $515.

They also carry Uberti and Cimarron. But only buy from them if you don't mind paying more than you would elsewhere...

1JimMarch
06-23-2009, 2:40 AM
First, see if you can answer four questions:

1) Do you need 44Magnum-class power, or can you get by with either the 357Magnum (up to 800 ft/lbs energy) or one of the moderate-speed big-bores like the 45LC or 44Special (around 500-550ft/lbs energy)?