PDA

View Full Version : Handgun question for person under 21 years old

frankiejoe577
06-20-2009, 12:53 AM
Hello, I'm pursuing a career in law enforcement I'm 19 years old. I'm currently a Public Safety Officer in Northern California. (Security Guard) I already have permits to carry a baton and OC. My father has a Glock 19 that he wants to give me. Is he allowed to give me the handgun since I'm under 21 but over 18?
I asked a gun dealer and he said no there is no way this can happen. No one under 21 can have a handgun registered to them. But I have heard about something called a "INTRA-FAMILIAL HANDGUN TRANSACTION." Can someone please tell me if this would work? All we have to do is pay $19 and mail in the form then it would change the owner of the gun from my dad to me? I have a clean record. Never done anything bad the only thing they have me in 'RIMS' for is being an RP for many things. Thank you and I await your reply. :chris:

lorax3
06-20-2009, 1:03 AM
The intra-familial transfer does exist. You only need to be 21 to buy a handgun, but 18 to own. Just fill out the form along with $19 and send it to the DOJ. The PC also requires that you have an HSC before you take possession of the handgun.

See the below link for more info.

http://wiki.calgunsfoundation.org/index.php/Transferring_Firearms_Among_Some_Family_Members

The form is here (http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/forms/pdf/oplaw.pdf)

Mssr. Eleganté
06-20-2009, 1:09 AM
All we have to do is pay $19 and mail in the form then it would change the owner of the gun from my dad to me?

Paying the $19 and mailing in the form would change the registration from your dad to you. But if you have the HSC then the gun becomes legally yours the second you dad gives it to you. You can even legally own it for 29 days before mailing in the Intrafamilial Transfer form.