PDA

View Full Version : CA gun Laws - I live in LA

EdBrownie
06-19-2009, 6:21 PM
Hi Everyone,

There is something important to me and I really need someone to help me out.

I have been doing some research on the internet, pertaining to gun laws in CA (where I'm a resident).

Basically, I wanted to find out what is the law, when it comes to storing a gun at home.

http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/pubfaqs.php

I found out that the only law pertaining to home storage, is that one must ensure that a child will not be able to get ahold of a firearm (basically, the gun owner must lock up the gun itself, or place the gun in a locked room/or container).

Since I don't have any children, and no kids will come to my home, is it safe (and legal), for me to have guns in an unlocked container at home?

I also have a second question: it says that if I am transporting a gun, it must be in a locked container, sitting in the trunk of my car.
This I understand.
But let's say that I plan on going to the grocery store, or Walmart, before I go to the range. Am I allowed to do this? (leave the gun in a locked container in trunk of car, while I go shopping).
Is it okay, that I go to school (go to class all day), before I go to the range at night (after school), while keeping the gun in a locked container in the trunk of my car, in the school parking lot?

Please help me understand this matter -- its really important to me.

Thanks a million.

L-2
06-19-2009, 7:07 PM
1. Home. Yes. Basically, do what you want in your own home. You've already addressed the children in your home issue.
2. Car. Not completely accurate. Not enough info for accurate answering; too many variables. Suggestion, more searching & reading on calguns.net.
-trunk OR locked container for CONCEALED handguns-good. You might need the locked container just to get the handgun to your trunk, though.
-grocery store/Walmart-sounds OK even though the PC 12026 states "directly" (to range, etc.).