PDA

View Full Version : My Letter to the NRA

fourthcorner
04-21-2005, 10:14 AM
Long time, no see folks (for those of you who have met me here months ago). I am posting the letter I wrote to the NRA, because I am afraid that the organization has started to slide away from single-issue advocacy on behalf of gun rights. This is of great concern to me and may well be of great concern to some of you. So here goes:

April 21, 2005

To Wayne LaPierre:

I have been a gun-rights advocate for over fifteen years, and for over fifteen years—despite the frowns and cajoles of many of my friends--I have been sending the NRA my annual membership dues with the understanding that this is a single-issue lobby fighting for my rights under the Second Amendment. As a certified handgun instructor, I have provided many of my skeptical friends with their first experiences of handling and shooting a firearm, and I have managed to convince dozens of these urban, liberal, San Francisco Bay Area denizens to take a second look at the Second Amendment and its purpose and utility for the United States. How’s that for advocacy?