PDA

View Full Version : Pistols in san francisco

koo1
06-15-2009, 6:12 PM
Are these illegal now? I don't know where to look. Looked at wikipedia and it says I need to be 21? and have a certificate to buy a firearm.

I am trying to get my first pistol. Is the S&W M&P9C for military and police only?

Sorry I am a newbie.:D What kind of paperwork do I have to fill out? What are the fees, taxes, etc for owning a handgun?

Hopi
06-15-2009, 6:16 PM
Welcome to the community!!

You must be 21 to purchase a handgun.

You also need to receive your Handgun Safety Certificate (http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/hscinfo.php) by passing the Handgun Safety Written Test (http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/forms/pdf/hscsg.pdf). Then pass a 'safe handling demonstration' for each handgun you subsequently purchase.

There aren't any fees other than the standard background check (DROS) fee of $25.

AK4me
06-15-2009, 6:17 PM
You need to be 21 to buy a pistol and you also need a handgun safety certificate, it costs $25.

jrara
06-15-2009, 6:17 PM
Yes you need to be 21 and have a Handgun Safety Certificate.

You will need to take the Handgun Safety test which will cost you $25.

You can get the S&W M&P Compact if you can find one with the 10 round mags.

Vacaville
06-15-2009, 6:20 PM
Pistols are not illegal to own in San Francisco, even though they tried a local ban a few years ago that got overturned. They are not gun friendly though and you may have to go somewhere else in the Bay Area to make your purchase.

You need to take a handgun safety test, which you'll take when at the shop when you buy the pistol. They'll give you a little card that you can keep in your wallet. It's very easy but will cost you an extra $25 bucks or so.

I'm not positive, but I do think you need to be 21 to buy a handgun.

koo1
06-15-2009, 6:29 PM
I thought the 10 rounds limit applies to rifles only.

ZRT650
06-15-2009, 6:31 PM