PDA

View Full Version : HELP with Gun Register laws

SunTzu_vs_Camus
06-15-2009, 10:54 AM
I'm new to CA and would like to sell a few handguns I own but have yet to register them.

Here's the law for registration.
===============================================
link:
http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/ab991.php

Firearms Information for New California Residents

Handguns

Any person who moves into California and who brings any pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person is considered to be a "Personal Handgun Importer" and is required to do one of the following within 60 days:

Complete and submit a /NEW RESIDENT HANDGUN OWNERSHIP REPORT/ form along with *$19.00* to the Department of Justice. A separate report form and $19.00 fee is required for each handgun reported. /NEW RESIDENT HANDGUN OWNERSHIP REPORT /forms can be obtained from California Department of Motor Vehicles' offices, licensed firearms dealers, local police and sheriff's departments, the California Department of Justice Bureau of Firearms at (916) 263-4887, and from the Online Forms Page <forms/> at this site.

Sell or transfer the handgun(s) to a California licensed firearms dealer or to another individual using a California licensed firearms dealer to conduct the transaction.

or

Sell or transfer the handgun(s) to a California police or sheriff's department. Persons choosing this option should contact the law enforcement agency for instructions prior to transportingthe handgun(s) to the agency.

Any person transporting handguns in California is required under California law to transport those handguns unloaded and in a locked container other than the glove compartment or utility compartment of a vehicle.
================================================== =================
Look at the 2nd bullet point (highlighted in RED) and it says that I can do ONE of the following 3 choices within 60 days:
1) Register the gun, keep it and pay $19.