PDA

View Full Version : Advice for finish on AK

nrakid88
06-10-2009, 8:42 AM
Hey guys. I just need some advice on what finish to do for my AK build. I really love the blue that comes on the kit I have. I have a NDS receiver, and it looks like its blued too, although it doesn't match the kit.

Should I not put a finish on anything?

Parkerize?

Parkerize and then Gun Kote or equivalent paint?

Sorry for the noob Question. I just don't have any experience with different finishes.

AaronHorrocks
06-10-2009, 8:50 AM
Due to the welds on a stamped receiver, parkerizing will end up showing every weld with a large color distorted spot.

oldyeller
06-10-2009, 9:26 AM
The park jobs coming out of Bing's park tube at the last build looked great to me, but maybe I was missing something. I am a noob also.

triaged
06-10-2009, 9:30 AM
If you are willing to take the time rust blue it.
http://www.akfiles.com/forums/showthread.php?t=31594&page=1&pp=35

nrakid88
06-10-2009, 9:35 AM
Hmm. That rust blue looks pretty cool. Is it possible to do the hole rifle at once? Looks like all at once is a bad idea. Hmm... I wonder if I can get the parts ready before my build party

triaged
06-10-2009, 9:54 AM
The problem I can think of would be carding stuff in hidden crevices. I have an old pump action .22 that I am thinking of rust bluing.

JamesY
06-10-2009, 10:04 AM
If you rust blue, make sure you do the individual parts separately. That way, you can get into all the nooks and crannies. If you start riveting and then try to rust blue, good luck! You can do it, but it's a PITA.

I like rust blue the best but it's the most time-consuming. A close second would be parking then painting over it using gunkote, duracoat or whatever I have laying around. I've tried gunkote and duracoat directly on AO blasted metal and it didn't hold up as well as if it were layed on over park. YYMV

domokun
06-10-2009, 10:19 AM
Black Oxide works fine for AK receivers and parts.

bigbob76
06-10-2009, 10:34 AM