PDA

View Full Version : UCSD bullcrap or legit?

pullnshoot25
06-04-2009, 10:38 AM
Dear Captain Rose,

My name is N8 and I am a current student here at UCSD. As an active student interested in civil liberties with a focus on firearms, I am looking into starting a Gun Owners Club here at UCSD and in all efforts to remain legal, I am sending you this letter to clarify UCSD policy.

In order to gain a wider audience and pique interest in my club, I feel it would be beneficial to utilize some sort of prop, particularly a "firearm". However, you and I both know that PC 626.9 prevents the lawful transport firearms defined under section PC 12001 inside of a college campus, sans a PC 12050 or sublisted PC 12031 exemption.

As such, this leaves me with arms that are considered "antique" firearms on both a federal and state level, namely antique or replica muzzle loading firearms as defined in this section of 12001.

(e) For purposes of Sections 12070, 12071, and paragraph (8) of
subdivision (a), and subdivisions (b), (c), (d), and (f) of Section
12072, the term "firearm" does not include an unloaded firearm that
is defined as an "antique firearm" in Section 921(a)(16) of Title 18
of the United States Code.

In addition, the UCSD definition of "firearm" seems to be undefined, which seems to mean that the definition falls directly back upon the definition in PC 12001, thereby exempting such arms from such regulation. However, this determination comes from what resources I have been given by UCSD, namely here, as well as here .

In addition to the above, as long as this arm is not brandished in a rude or aggressive manner, a PC 417 offense cannot be triggered. As long as it is unloaded, a PC 12031 or PC 626.9 violation can't occur. I believe (not entirely certain) that possessing black powder on campus grounds might be a violation of 626.9 but that will require some further reading which I have no time to undertake at the moment.