PDA

View Full Version : Dual Residency ?

TonyM
09-21-2005, 5:38 AM
`````http://calguns.net/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

toolman9000
09-21-2005, 8:13 AM
If you have a condo or a house in Arizona or Nevada and also get a State ID, I don't see why you couldn't buy all the guns you wanted - for that state. Just keep your dual life seperate where the firearms are concerned and "I think" you should be fine.

I would not bring them to California even if they were legal unless you sold your interest in the other state and no longer were a dual resident - sans the high caps and "evil" guns.

Heck, if I had dual residency in Arizona, I would try to get a class III license so I had something to look forward to when I was there.

-toolman9000

-hanko
09-21-2005, 9:04 AM
Talk to your tax professional; if you have dual residency in the eyes of the IRS, you're good to go. I've been a resident of both ID and the prk for a few years with no problems.

-hanko

09-21-2005, 10:19 AM
Can you legally have two drivers licenses (that is, two state-issued picture IDs, colloquially known as drivers licenses)? If no, this might be a problem buying a gun for the state in which you don't have a drivers license.

Yes, I know that it's easily possible to have multiple drivers licenses; every college kid who wants to have a beer before age 21 knows about that. I was asking about doing so /legally/, which might be hard or impossible.

gunsmithcat
09-21-2005, 10:39 AM
I know legally you are not allowed to have drivers licenses from two separate states. When applying for a second one u are supposed to give up the old one..
However, that hasnt stopped my friend from obtaining a second one by claiming he never drove before and taking the driving test all over....
His insurance record for that state started at zero.

Buying firearms in both states moght not be a problem as long as you do not include ur SSN on purchases. htat might raise red flags.

toolman9000
09-21-2005, 11:22 AM