View Full Version : Schmidt & Bender PM II 5-25x56

05-28-2009, 7:23 PM
I just got on the waiting list for a Barrett m98b and I'm thinking of putting a Schmidt & Bender PM II 5-25x56 on it. I'm a noob when it comes to scopes, so does anyone have any personal experience with this scope?

Also, where do you recommend buying optics from?

05-28-2009, 9:04 PM
I'm a big fan of US Optics (yes I am biased). 1) they are SoCal based; 2) you can go visit them and ask questions; 3) excellent customer service; and 4) you can have a custom made scope to your specs.

If you are a noob to scopes and are going to drop a serious amount change on some glass, you should consider all options.

BTW, S&B's are great scopes and it is hard to go wrong with them, I'm just a big supporter of USO.

05-28-2009, 11:19 PM
Sweet rifle. I've owned a couple of S&Bs, and like Tony said, you can't go wrong with them. I currently have an S&B PMII 5-25x56mm with P4 Fine reticle, illuminated on top of a Noveske N6. To be honest with you, I rarely ever need to go all the way to 25x. But it's nice to have that option.

In scopes, you get what you pay for, generally. Do check out US Optics, too. I've looked through someone else's USO and it is a damn fine scope. In that price range, you have many great options -- S&B, US Optics, Nightforce.

I hear Leupold is on a long slow decline in quality, but having never owned one, I can't say if that's true or not.

Good luck!

05-28-2009, 11:21 PM
Oh, and try looking for scopes on the Calguns accessories for sale board. You may also want to try Snipershide.com -- they have a lot of higher-end scopes for sale on their board.

05-29-2009, 9:08 AM
That would be a great scope for a .338LM, but you will definitely want to take a Precision Rifle class if you want to get the most out of your rifle and scope. As mentioned, the P4 Fine reticle is the one to get and you may want the CM model vs the MOA. That's the same setup I have for my SRS.