PDA

View Full Version : PSL--Recommendations/Where to get

recshooter
05-27-2009, 11:40 PM
Hey guys, I am interested in picking up a PSL-type rifle.

Admittedly, I am not very familiar with them. I have found myself wanting a high-powered, longer-range rifle that is semi-auto and evil.

The fact that I really like the AK platform, they shoot relatively less-expensive ammo, and are, themselves, more affordable than other rifles such as M1As, makes it seem like a good choice for me.

I also like the 4X scope w/ the range-finding reticle that they come with.

This will mostly be used for range shooting (possibly hunting, but not a concern now).

So here is my point for starting this thread:

--Which of this series of rifle do you guys think is best for me (price is very much a factor)?

--Any general thoughts/recommendations/advice about the PSL?

--Good places to pick one up?

Any education and advice would be greatly appreciated, as I am a noob to these rifles:D

BTW, I have seen the Henderson rifles. The price seems good, but I don't know much about them (Century, I presume), and don't know if it is worth it after dealing w/ all the FFL transfer issues.

shooterdave
05-27-2009, 11:47 PM
henderson is a 1st class dealer and very CA friendly. CWS might have some but will cost a liitle more. with a psl don't shoot any ammo heavier than 150grains or you risk damaging the receiver. they are pretty decent rifles all of them come through century but they are 100% made in romania. you will either need to fill in the buttstock thumbhole or get some sort of bullet button to make it CA compliant.

Hoop
05-28-2009, 7:43 AM
Henderson Defense is the way to go. Maybe get some more magazines from Copesdistributing but other than that just go out and shoot the thing.

Make sure to ask for one they've inspected though - common problems are canted scopes / gas blocks / front sight bases.

Agustav
05-28-2009, 9:52 AM
I got my PSL from Anderson and they are first rate dealer!