PDA

View Full Version : Sotomayor: Heller Does Not Apply to the States

Libertarian71
05-26-2009, 8:47 PM
Hello all. I am an LA-based lawyer, and have argued in the United States Supreme Court. The following post at a US Supreme Court blog caught my attention. It's an extended round up of her Second Circuit rulings in a variety of areas: http://www.scotusblog.com/wp/judge-sotomayors-appellate-opinions-in-civil-cases/

Here's the part about the Second Amendment. Apparently, she believes that the Due Process Clause of the 14th Amendment does NOT incorporate the 2d Amendment:

Second Amendment: Sotomayor was also a member of the panel that issued a per curiam opinion in another controversial case that may be headed for the Court next year. In Maloney v. Cuomo, 554 F.3d 56 (2009), the panel considered (as relevant here) a claim by a New York attorney that a state law prohibiting possession of a chuka stick (also known as nunchaku, a device used in martial arts consisting of two sticks joined by a rope or chain) violated his Second Amendment right to bear arms. The district court rejected the claim on the ground that the Second Amendment does not apply to the states. On appeal, the panel affirmed. Relying on the Supreme Court’s 1886 decision in Presser v. Illinois, it explained that it was “settled law . . . that the Second Amendment applies only to limitations the federal government seeks to impose” on the individual’s right to bear arms. The Supreme Court’s recent decision in District of Columbia v. Heller, the court continued, “does not invalidate this longstanding principle.” And while acknowledging the possibility that “Heller might be read to question the continuing validity of this principle,” the panel deemed itself bound to follow Presser because it “directly controls, leaving to the Supreme Court the prerogative of overruling its own decisions.” Maloney’s lawyers intend to file a petition for certiorari in late June.

damon1272
05-26-2009, 8:52 PM