PDA

View Full Version : Transfers and Renting guns at a range?

bear308
05-26-2009, 3:30 PM
So is renting a firearm to a party for use on your own property considered lending or giving? I have never thought so, but someone is saying that we cannot rent an HK45 with it not being on the list.

What says calguns, tried calling DOJ but the they're not pickin up as usual.

ontargetrange
05-26-2009, 6:46 PM
So is renting a firearm to a party for use on your own property considered lending or giving? I have never thought so, but someone is saying that we cannot rent an HK45 with it not being on the list.

Weird question you present --- so if I understand it and based on the following:
> you own the gun in question
> The person renting it is paying you a fee to use it and the ground he is standing on
> OR< you are lending said person on private property the temporary use of a firearm

Based on these rules - since I do this for a living - you can rent for use or lend on private property a firearm - given that the person is of legal age and is not a felon --- the fact the firearm is not on the "LIST" means nothing -- we have a number of firearms that are not now or have never been on the list and yet have discussed this at length with DOJ about their use on the property -- can't be sold or transfered to anyone other than LE -- so when they are mostly two years old I sell them out of State -- have several Sig P250's for rent now and have no other issues.

Librarian
05-26-2009, 7:07 PM
The issue is transfer. If you have to fill out 4473 and DROS, then you worry about the Roster.

Cardinal Sin
05-27-2009, 1:55 PM