PDA

View Full Version : How Come They Can Ban Handguns "Decertified" For Lack Of Money?

08-01-2005, 7:14 PM
I've been looking at the actual text of the "approved gun list" law and I still don't get how it's illegal to buy a gun that used to be "certified", but isn't any more because the manufacturer stopped sending the state money. Full disclosure: I'm not a lawyer (for better or worse), perhaps someone smarter than me can explain this.

First let me summarize what I think I read in the law:

(Pay particular attention to 12126 and 12131.)

12125: It's illegal to offer for sale (etc.) an "unsafe" gun.

12126: Defines "unsafe" gun as a) not having certain safety features or b) not passing certain safety tests.

12127, 12128: Definitions for their safety tests.

13132: Directs the AG to create and maintain the "approved gun list." Provides that guns may be taken off the list if the manufacturer doesn't keep sending the state money.

What I don't get, is this:

I don't see any place in 12126 where a gun becomes "unsafe" just because it's not on the list. All I see is a list of features and passing tests. If a gun was previously on this list, it must have passed the tests. If it's taken off due to lack of money, where in the law does this make the gun "unsafe?"

Am I reading it wrong? Is there another section I'm missing?

Thanks for any help.

(And I ask because I have been given to understand that most of the guns on the "decertified" list are there because of money, not safety.)

jnojr
08-01-2005, 8:03 PM
Originally posted by tumunu:
I've been looking at the actual text of the "approved gun list" law and I still don't get how it's illegal to buy a gun that used to be "certified", but isn't any more because the manufacturer stopped sending the state money.

Because the law has nothing to do with "safety". It's all about making the private ownership of firearms more expensive and laden with forms and paperwork.

bu-bye
08-01-2005, 10:49 PM