PDA

View Full Version : Ruger Mini 30 Education

MPizzlo
05-25-2009, 8:41 AM
Hello Calgunners!!

First off, I am a newb to the site, but have been referencing it for quite some time now. Thanks for your help!

I recently purchased a Mini 30 (used). I have been looking for muzzle brakes, and am noticing in forums that there is a difference between older and newer Mini 30's. Can anybody educate me on what these differences are? I have read it has to do with the mounting of the front site. I am very interested in a muzzle brake (Eagle w/ HK front site) but want to know if it will fit my rifle.

I have added some pictures of my rifle and front site just so you can see. Thanks a bunch in advance.

762cavalier
05-25-2009, 8:47 AM
I can't answer your specific questions, however if you go to this site they have a ton of info on the Ruger mini 14/30.

http://www.perfectunion.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=86

Digital_Hate
05-25-2009, 11:24 AM
i dont know the differences but i know on mine it was hard to find mags. apparently there are 2 kinds. everything is the same except for the ridge on the back of the mag. there is a 1/16 difference in size.

bohoki
05-25-2009, 1:07 PM
in my experience they work best when left alone

i have not seen any evidence of commercial brakes for the mini-30 actually doing any good at reducing recoil

762cavalier
05-25-2009, 3:08 PM
in my experience they work best when left alone

i have not seen any evidence of commercial brakes for the mini-30 actually doing any good at reducing recoil

Actually the purpose of putting a brake on a mini isn't for recoil. it is to change the barrel harmonics to help with accuracy.

bohoki
05-25-2009, 3:52 PM
Actually the purpose of putting a brake on a mini isn't for recoil. it is to change the barrel harmonics to help with accuracy.

beware the snake oil

762cavalier
05-25-2009, 4:05 PM