PDA

View Full Version : HOw do u build a upper


caligundude
05-24-2009, 11:00 PM
i want to build an upper for my lower ar15. what do you need ? what parts ? tools? is it hard ?

i have no clue what parts are needed at all . please list if possible.

JeffM
05-24-2009, 11:05 PM
It all starts with reading comprehension.

aplinker
05-24-2009, 11:24 PM
http://www.midwayusa.com/midwayusa/StaticPages/pdf/Instructions/AR-15%20Varmint%20Rifle%20Instructions.pdf

domokun
05-24-2009, 11:41 PM
http://www.howtobuildanar15.com

aplinker
05-24-2009, 11:48 PM
I forgot to mention... some of the tools Midway suggests aren't the "best." Like the upper vise block... get the DPMS.

NeoWeird
05-25-2009, 12:05 AM
I forgot to mention... some of the tools Midway suggests aren't the "best." Like the upper vise block... get the DPMS.

Why not do it the military way and vice on the barrel? It may not be the best way, but for one offs, if it works for the military, why not?

Josh3239
05-25-2009, 12:13 AM
I forgot to mention... some of the tools Midway suggests aren't the "best." Like the upper vise block... get the DPMS.

I'll second that! The DPMS Panther Claw is definetly better.

Don't get intimidated by it, it truly is easy. The first upper I built, I clamped the upper in the "clamshell" style block to a table and used the Armorer's Wrench to turn the barrel nut. I didn't have a torque wrench, a vice, or any other "specialty" item. With the exception of overgassing (unrelated to the build) the rifle was perfect.