PDA

View Full Version : School me on AKs (please)

al g blenny
05-23-2009, 5:13 PM
I am very new to AKs. I want to build one from scratch including bending a flat. I see so many different models referenced here and I have no idea what the differences are. Is there a page somewhere that lists different models and the features of each? If not can someone list them? I want to build a quality gun and I don't know where to start. Thanks.

God Bless The Mauser
05-23-2009, 5:21 PM
If your going to build just one it's probably not worth the cost of buying all the tools. They really are simple when it comes to building them. There's tons of info at www.akfiles.com and www.theakforum.net you might be able to find someone willing to let you borrow their tools to build one. Another option is rewelding a milled AK such as a Yugo, I've build 3 of those so far and it's pretty simple.

Josh3239
05-23-2009, 5:21 PM
Here is a ridiculously long list of all the AKs: http://www.ak-47.us/gear/AK47_Chart.php

Here are some questions that can help you decide what you want,
Pistol or rifle? Short barrel and no stock or buttstock and 16'' barrel
Milled or stamped receiver?
Folding stock or fixed stock? If folding, there is side folding and under folding and wire stock and triangle stocks.
Featureless or mag lock?
7.62x39 or 5.45 or 5.56mm?
Any preferences for country or origin? Bulgarian, Hungarian, and Polish appear to be the highest quality. Romanian and Yugo seem to be the lowest.

al g blenny
05-23-2009, 5:35 PM
If your going to build just one it's probably not worth the cost of buying all the tools. They really are simple when it comes to building them. There's tons of info at www.akfiles.com and www.theakforum.net you might be able to find someone willing to let you borrow their tools to build one. Another option is rewelding a milled AK such as a Yugo, I've build 3 of those so far and it's pretty simple.