PDA

View Full Version : HELP! m1a- installing sadlak mount on loaded model


speeddreamz
05-22-2009, 8:58 PM
So i got the scope I got the gun.

The gun came with a mount of some sort(stripper clip guide?) on it, and it looks as if i need to remove it before i can mount the sadlak to the receiver. There is a roll pin in there I'm being told that I need to punch out. I believe I need to take the receiver out of the stock and punch it up out toward the top. Then I can go ahead and install the sadlak.

http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v653/106/123/11709019/n11709019_34517825_104611.jpg

http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v653/106/123/11709019/n11709019_34517828_3134832.jpg
So any advice for installing this thing? Anywrite ups that I missed? I will work on first getting the existing mount out of there, and then check tolerances. If they're good I will proceed with mounting? Detailed pics or write ups would be helpful

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs016.snc1/4220_575619047768_11709019_34515482_4884279_n.jpg

X-NewYawker
05-22-2009, 10:05 PM
You get a thin punch and working from INSIDE THE RECEIVER, with the gun upside down, you push the set pin out of that stripper clip guide, then with a brass hammer you hammer the block out while supporting the receiver so it won't crack.

X-NewYawker
05-22-2009, 10:06 PM
and you just have to remove the trigger group, you don't have to take the gunb out of the stock to push that pin out. Always punch from the inside out -- or the pin will drop into the gun. .

speeddreamz
05-23-2009, 8:16 AM
By inside you mean under the trig group or from the reciever area?

speeddreamz
05-23-2009, 8:28 AM
Anyone got a write up or tutorial

buffybuster
05-23-2009, 9:01 AM
Field strip the rifle, flip upside down, put it in a PADDED vice, find/get a thin punch that just fits into the pinhole. Tap it out. Shouldn't take too much force.

Crazed_SS
05-23-2009, 11:18 AM
Anyone got a write up or tutorial

Lemme go find the Springfield Scope Mount Manual... it has pictures and the exact tools you should have to remove the pin.

Crazed_SS
05-23-2009, 11:28 AM
Here you go.

OCArmory
05-23-2009, 12:22 PM
If you are local you are welcome to come by and I can give you a hand. (no charge). You will also need a torque wrench for the side bolt. Not really necessary but they recommend it. Remember test fit everything first before opening the loctite. You will probably have to file the bit that gos in the clip guide.
Mike

speeddreamz
05-23-2009, 6:16 PM
Thank you kindly Calguns...now if someone would just give me some money to replace my battered old bushnell.

I think i'll shoot it once and it'll lose its zero.

http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs016.snc1/4220_575776018198_11709019_34522139_2494164_n.jpg

Crazed_SS
05-23-2009, 6:51 PM
Nice install.. looks good

speeddreamz
05-24-2009, 10:39 AM
Nice install.. looks good

THX any advice on scopes?

MrNiceGuy
05-24-2009, 12:28 PM
I have a Super Sniper 10x on my M1A, Sadlak airborne mount, can't complain, holds zero after about 10 range trips so far.