PDA

View Full Version : Bullet Button Legal?

kenagy55
05-06-2009, 9:42 AM
If I were to purchase a SIG556 in Arizona with 10 round magazines and a bullet button could I legally register it in California? I havn't done it yet I want to make sure it's legal first. DOJ say's they can't give legal advice and my local DA hasn't gotten back to me yet.

sorensen440
05-06-2009, 9:45 AM
If you were to have the dealer in AZ ship it to a dealer in CA to do the transfer and it had a bb on it prior to shipping then yes
(Or have them ship the lower to the dealer and the upper to you)

GenLee
05-06-2009, 9:47 AM
Yes a bullet button is legal.

No you can't go to Az. to buy it. You can buy it from one of the sponsoring venders of this site, They will make it Ca. compliant and ship it to your ffl here in ca. for transfer to you.

There is no registration needed for long guns. Only handguns require registration.

grahlaika
05-06-2009, 9:49 AM
First off, I'm not a lawyer, so take what I say with a grain of caution.

There's no easy answer to the legal question because it hasn't been challenged in court yet. We obviously believe the bullet button meets the criteria for making what started as an AW into a compliant fixed magazine semi-auto rifle. I'm sure some at the DOJ are of the opinion that the BB bypasses the intent of the law, and have made threats in the past about incoming prosecutions for BB-equipped rifles, although nothing's come of it.

You're obviously taking a risk of sorts, and if you're not willing to take that risk, don't do it. I doubt you'll hear much of a definitive answer from either the DOJ or from your DA. I'd say as long as your FFL is willing to import the weapon as is into the state and transfer it to you, you should be OK.

FS00008
05-06-2009, 9:52 AM
Yes a bullet button is legal.